Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

New and looking for something specific.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2011, 02:53 AM

New and looking for something specific.

Hello,

My name is Tyler, and I am new to the long range game. I have always been intrigued with bolt action, long range rifles.

As of now, I have a Mark IV 8.5-25x50mm LR/T M5 with the Illuminated sight, And alot of 250-300gr. Lapua rounds.

So I guess my questions come to the following:
Is there a .338 bolt action, long range rifle, that has a positive review?

Take down feature?

Or easy to break down and store?

Oh, and of course, Is there one with a good modification platform?

Take down is justified because I do not have alot of room in my apartment. And why not lapua? lol. I have more rounds then would be acceptable to get rid of or to give away. The sight would be a cool addition to the rifle, if you have it, why not use it?

Thank you all in advanced,

Tyler
Old 12-22-2011, 04:07 AM
Platinum Member

Re: New and looking for something specific.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyCrawf View Post
Hello,

My name is Tyler, and I am new to the long range game. I have always been intrigued with bolt action, long range rifles.

As of now, I have a Mark IV 8.5-25x50mm LR/T M5 with the Illuminated sight, And alot of 250-300gr. Lapua rounds.
Nice scope for the job.

Quote:
So I guess my questions come to the following:
Is there a .338 bolt action, long range rifle, that has a positive review?
Several from 1,200.00 on up, the sky is the limit.
Quote:
Take down feature?
Several but extremely expensive customs only.
Quote:
Or easy to break down and store?
Breaking a rifle down to store it is not necessary, and you will have accuracy issues with all but the most carefully handcrafted take downs.

Quote: