Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Need opinions on Rem SPS stock

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2014, 09:45 AM
Gold Member

Need opinions on Rem SPS stock

Just as the title says - I have no first hand experience with the SPS line but the general attitude is to throw the stock away before you even get going. I am going to help a young man buy a rifle, get it up and running and get his feet wet out to 1000 yds. on steel/paper. It'll be either a 308 or 260 - that decision has been made and is final.

My question is can I get a factory SPS to be adequate using the standard stock - I know I can get a Savage to do what we need to do from prior experience.

Thanks in advance for those of you that have found adequate results and what you did to get there.
Old 04-04-2014, 10:26 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Need opinions on Rem SPS stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboy View Post
Just as the title says - I have no first hand experience with the SPS line but the general attitude is to throw the stock away before you even get going. I am going to help a young man buy a rifle, get it up and running and get his feet wet out to 1000 yds. on steel/paper. It'll be either a 308 or 260 - that decision has been made and is final.

My question is can I get a factory SPS to be adequate using the standard stock - I know I can get a Savage to do what we need to do from prior experience.

Thanks in advance for those of you that have found adequate results and what you did to get there.
SPS rifles will run you around $550-650. They have a throw-away stock on them. And they also usually have a sporter barrel, which will not be great for LR shooting. Not that it won't work, but they're not known to be as accurate.