Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Need help making a .338 purchase decision.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2010, 09:08 AM

Need help making a .338 purchase decision.

Hello to all of you,
I'm new to LRH as well as shooting and hunting long range. I've always wanted to get into it but never had the time. Now I do. I need some help choosing the right caliber and the best gun. I've done a ton of research, and it looks to me like the .338 is one of the best choices of caliber. The only concern I might have with the .338 is that it might travel past the target (while hunting) and hurt someone I may not even see. As far as the gun, I like the AI .338 LM and as second choice SAKO TRG-42. They both show incredible specs , but the AI seems even tighter and more rugged. How did you guys choose your weapons? Please give me some advice and tell me what you think. I really don't want to end up with a wrong gun. Thanks.
Old 12-21-2010, 09:22 AM
Silver Member

Re: Need help making a .338 purchase decision.

Any caliber you shoot has the potential to hit another object past the intended target. That's why you always make sure of your target and anything behind it. Check out Shawn Carlocks .338 Defensive Edge. He is a member of this site and it is a great caliber.
Old 12-21-2010, 10:15 AM