Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Need expert advice on my Long range Gun build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2010, 04:30 AM

Need expert advice on my Long range Gun build

Hello everyone. I am new to long range shooting but a recent trip to wyoming to hunt some speed goats really got me excited about long range shooting. I plan on using a savage 110 receiver. Im going with krieger barrel in 7mm wsm. I think the long action will give me more leeway in head spacing my bullets and still be able to use the magwell for cycle and feeding the weapon. As of now I plan on using the choate sniper stock. I plan on having sharpshootersupply do all the work. Ive done a lot of research and they seem to get good reviews and are a savage action only company. Let me know what you think and any suggestions would be greatly appriciated. This is my first post on this website so don't bash my savage action please. I went with them because of their floating bolt head design. I know remington 700 is the most popular action but I believe savage is catching up. I just want to make sure im headed in the right direction. I do reload so ammo isn't a issue. Thanks for your time.
Old 12-17-2010, 05:22 AM
Gold Member

Re: Need expert advice on my Long range Gun build

First off welcome to LRH.
There is nothing wrong with a savage rifles. I have a safe full of them and every one shoots great.