Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

My Trip To Defensive Edge Long Range Shooting School

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2011, 04:13 PM
Platinum Member

My Trip To Defensive Edge Long Range Shooting School

I want to share the story of my trip to Idaho to attend Shawn Carlocks "Defensive Edge" Long Range shooting school. About a year ago I decided to sign up for the full basic and advanced class that Shawn and Bob Carlock offer. I have been shooting to distances over 1000 yards for quite a few years. But, I figured a guy can always pick up some knowledge or techniques when you rub shoulders with one of the best. I was right, this was money and time well spent. Plus, I met some great people there.
Day one found us traveling into the high country of Idaho to a flatspot in the road known as "Long Range Shooting Camp". Upon getting out of my truck I saw the huge wall tent that would serve as the school room for day one and then transform into roomy accommodations for us 4 attendees. Also a kitchen set up for some for preperation of some awesome "Dutch Oven" prepaired meals.
Here is the shooting camp view.

After the class time we moved right into shooting for the next 3 days. Shawn is adamant about getting you trigger time and lots of it. You shoot up, down, flat, into winds with lift, drift you name it. Never a dull moment! There are plans in place with back up plans for what to do if the weather is better suited.
Here are a couple very educational pictures. After a light mountain rain or mornings with a high dewpoint the fog lifts revieling the wind currents. I stood at camp amazed by what the winds were doing as they flow up or down the canyons. Or the lift created as they meet or travel up a slope. It's like the wind was just painted for you to view.