Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

McMillan A3 vs HTG ADJ for hunting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 11:12 PM
Gold Member

McMillan A3 vs HTG ADJ for hunting

What is peoples preferences on a long range hunting rifle. I am just deciding on the last few components before i hopefully get my first project on its way. I always wanted the McMillan A5 or A3 stock and after takling to my gunsmith i decided A3. But in recent weeks i began thinking about the HTG ADJ due to weight and comfort. I haven't held any of these stocks as for its my first project. This rifle will be used for long hulls, long hikes, as well as sitting and long range shooting. The A3 and A5 are a little heavier and bulker and i began thinking are they too big and bulky for long hikes? The HTG is more of hunter version and i know that would be fine.

From your experience do you prefer the HTG or A3 for a hunting rifle and if you were to have an "all purpose rifle" so to speak (long hikes, shorter and longer range shooting) would you take the HTG or A3

You can buy McMillan stocks ready to ship at the LRH store

Last edited by edited by; 04-10-2012 at 02:06 PM.
Old 12-16-2011, 01:56 AM
Platinum Member

Re: McMillan A3 vs HTG ADJ for hunting

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_3479 View Post