Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

losing elevation when dialing

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2012, 12:07 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 23
losing elevation when dialing

Recently, when shooting at 500 yards with my Millett TRS-1 4-16X atop my rem 700 .308, I noticed the rounds impacting 2.5 MOA low on a recent shoot. Iíve shot at this distance and greater several times and my data from JBM has always been dead on as far as elevation is concerned. I dialed back to my 100 yard zero and shot several rounds at 100 yards to check for a tracking issue. No issues here. The scope returned to zero almost perfectly. How did I lose 2.5 MOA in adjustment at 500 yards in just a couple weeks? Same Ammo, nearly identical weather conditions. Iím not familiar with the internal workings of the scope or how the elevation turret works. Iím hearing definitive click when I rotate the turret although it has always been a little mushy. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2012, 12:30 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The cold part of Montana
Posts: 1,390
Re: losing elevation when dialing

which model number do you have?

I notice something similar with my Millet scope. Mine is supposed to have 1/8min clicks but it seems more like its 1/10 min clicks. 100yrd zero equals 3moa drop at 300yrds, I have to dial up 4moa for it to be on, but using the reticle to hold the 2.5moa it subtends and my rounds hit exactly .5moa low
__________________
Keep in mind the animals we shoot for food and display are not bullet proof. Contrary to popular belief, they bleed and die just like they did a hundred years ago. Being competent with a given rifle is far more important than impressive ballistics and poor shootability. High velocity misses never put a steak in the freezer.

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2012, 03:36 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 23
Re: losing elevation when dialing

Not sure about the model number, but it does use 1/4 MOA adjustments. I'm confused because this hasn't been a consistent problem. The 1/4 MOA adjustments were right on up until just a couple weeks ago. Now i'm hitting 2.5 MOA low at 500? I'm wondering if something is slipping inside the elevation turret. I'm thinking of returning to Millett for repair if i can't diagnose the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2012, 08:54 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helena,Mt.
Posts: 257
Re: losing elevation when dialing

First off, don't just assume it is the scope. There are a lot of other variables to consider. Atmospheric conditions can make a huge difference in poi. Take it out and shoot it some more. Put some of your ammo on ice in a cooler and keep some pretty warm. Compare the drops of the two. A lot of the difference may come from temp. Humidity can also affect poi. You said it returned to zero, so it is probably not the scope. Shoot quite a bit more and see what happens.
__________________
I think, therefore I am, conservative.

Kids are great, beer is good, and people are stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2012, 11:51 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 858
Re: losing elevation when dialing

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffP40 View Post
First off, don't just assume it is the scope. There are a lot of other variables to consider. Atmospheric conditions can make a huge difference in poi. Take it out and shoot it some more. Put some of your ammo on ice in a cooler and keep some pretty warm. Compare the drops of the two. A lot of the difference may come from temp. Humidity can also affect poi. You said it returned to zero, so it is probably not the scope. Shoot quite a bit more and see what happens.
Don't think so.....Lets assume for argument that he is shooting the 168 berger at 2600. You would need to drop down to under 2300 to lower impact points my 2.5 moa.

Temp.... I max out my seirra program (130f to -30f) and am around 4 inches of change.

There is not enough humidity on earth to make much difference at 500 yards.

Also, if he is using a comp program to figure his come ups, he is probably already imputting the enviromental conditions.

It is either a garbage in garbage out situation with the program or a scope issue.

Just my .02
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2012, 06:59 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 1,172
Re: losing elevation when dialing

Don't forget parallax--just another part of the checklist.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-11-2012, 08:05 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: North Louisiana
Posts: 574
Re: losing elevation when dialing

Here's the cure: NIGHTFORCE!!
__________________
United States Marines: Giving the enemies of America a chance to die for their cause since 1775!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: losing elevation when dialing
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dialing in moa hellbound Long Range Hunting & Shooting 1 09-14-2011 06:14 PM
Losing the velvet CallMaker Trail Cameras And Photos 1 09-03-2011 08:30 PM
Dialing a 243 Win? budlight Long Range Hunting & Shooting 9 07-08-2011 10:22 PM
Dialing elevation vs mil dot holdover phillietimothy Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 11 02-25-2011 11:30 PM
Scope -Dialing Up Elevation ? ol mike Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 17 06-08-2007 08:42 AM

Current Poll
Are you on Facebook?
Yes - 46.83%
1,085 Vote
No - 19.16%
444 Votes
No, but I may join - 1.77%
41 Votes
No way, are you kidding? - 35.99%
834 Votes
Total Votes: 2,317
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC