Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Long Range Hunting Rifle Opinions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 10:22 PM

Long Range Hunting Rifle Opinions

I am new to Long Range Precision shooting and preparing to purchase a new setup. I am thinking of a Savage 110FCP HS PRECISION 300WIN topped with a Huskemaw Blue Diamond 5-20 Scope with Custom Turrets.

I want a rifle capable of hunting bull elk out to 1,000 yards. Please let me know what you think.
Old 02-05-2013, 10:45 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Long Range Hunting Rifle Opinions

Nothing wrong with that rig and caliber, but practice, practice, pracitce. Have you shot an elk at 300yds or closer?
Old 02-06-2013, 12:36 AM

Yes, I have shot several animals ranging from 100 out to 647 yards being my furthest. I am a veteran police officer and shoot 1000 to 5000 rounds a month depending on the time of year.
I am building a range capable of shots out to 2000 yards so practicing will depend on budgeting for ammo.
Old 02-06-2013, 01:31 AM
Silver Member

Motor622

That looks to be a quality rig with some long range capability. Id rather it had a 26 inch barrel and a muzzle break but it will do for a start. With the right bullet it will get to 1,000 yards with enough velocity to mushroom and enough energy to take down an elk. I have a Savage 260 Rem LRP with the HS Precision stock and it is a shooter. When Im up for a challenge I try to hit golf balls at 800 yards. It is great practice but hard to do even with a tack driver. Elk seem pretty big after that which of course is the whole point. Another nice feature is the barrel swapability of a Savage.
Old 02-06-2013, 07:27 AM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor622 View Post