Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Long range first hit mathematical forumulas

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2005, 05:39 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Long range first hit mathematical forumulas

i'm pretty new to this and go by my drop chart for distance.altitude is not a variable for me here in Pa. but i allow 1/4 moa for every 10 deg difference from my sight in temperature.
Old 09-16-2005, 09:48 PM
Silver Member

I remember when I taught at Sniper school I used to think "I dread the day computers are used to do all the calculations we do now with a calculator, formulas, and expericance." Unfortunately it appears those days have come. No offence to anyone using Exbal, but we used to spend months on the range honing our skills to do what these little handheld programs will do. I have not used Exbal yet, but will. It is the end of an art.

The main problem we had back in the early 90's was accurate range estimation. If you know the size of the target mil-dots can be very accurate. Next was up hill down hill range estimation (and shooting), using mil-dots as the range estimation tool. We figured out if you took a vertical mil reading and multiplied it by the cosign twice it was accurate.

For windage we had a formula that was range x wind velocity x value of the wind in % divided by the constant for that range. The constant changed with each 25 yards in distance.

We shot at 10 in. wide moving targets (walking speed) out to 600 yards with a .308 Winchester. We used the spaces between the mil-dots to figure the lead. Most guys shot a one mil lead on a walking speed target to hit dead center at 600 yards (approx 26 in. lead)

We had a lot of other formulas that I am looking forward to testing against the computer.