close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Limbsaver Barrel De-resonator...myth?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-03-2009, 10:59 PM

Limbsaver Barrel De-resonator...myth?

I saw one of the "Limbsaver Rifle Barrel De-resonaters" at a shooting supply store the other day and although I was intruiged, I thought I'd check of the forum here first to see if anyone has any experience with one of these. It looks like a small rubber dougnut - and talk about expensive!! $26.99!

The claim is that the device (when slid on to the correct position on the barrel) "calms" the harmonics.

How much "calming" effect could a little piece of rubber possibly have on a 30" heavy varmint barrel?

What do you think?...fact or fiction?
    Unread 08-04-2009, 11:02 AM
    Platinum Member

Re: Limbsaver Barrel De-resonator...myth?

I'm no scientist, but it seemed to work on my cousins Savage. He has a 26" barrel and he found a sweet spot that tightened up his groups. It may be a mental thing, but I know as he slid it up and down the barrel to find the sweet spot, his group size definitely changed. This however is on a rifle that is shooting .75" groups consistently with hand loads. I would say it helped to shrink them to about .5".

Tank
    Matthew 7:13-14
    "Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. [14] But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

If you find your self in a fair fight, your tactics suck!- Marine 1st Sergeant Jim Ryfinger

Friends don't let friends develop canonitis!-chucknbach

arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!

Unread 08-04-2009, 08:32 PM
    Platinum Member