Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

Kestrel help please!!!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2013, 03:25 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 304
Kestrel help please!!!

Is it bad that I want to throw my brand new kestrel 4000nv? I bought it to make the switch from my g7 br2 to a vectronix terrapin and just use the shooter app. And I read all over the Internet that it tells elevation, baro pressure, temp humidity, and wind speed, just to find out when I receive it, that you have to type in the correct elevation for elevation and baro pressure to be correct. Which I feel before I type it in to my shooter app, is all incorrect, which then is confirmed when I press the fire button on my br2 and the calculate button on shooter. I'm shooting as I'm typing this (letting the barrel cool down) and my br2 has me hitting rocks every shot at 587, and 1088. But I type all the environmental conditions in the shooter app and its normally 1.5 -2 MOA lower then what the br2 tells me to dial. And I want to blame it on the kestrel, not shooter. Are their any wind meters out there that will actually tell you the correct elevation and baro pressure so I don't have to go buy a GPS to tell me this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2013, 04:20 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central MT
Posts: 731
Re: Kestrel help please!!!

Have you tried calibrating your Kestrel from a known weather station?

Helena, MT Weather Forecast from Weather Underground

There is a station in the north hills. I will take my Kestrel 4500NV to this station with the known altitude and adjust the Baro pressure as indicated by the link above using the instructions in the Kestrel manual corresponding to this altitude.

I have found after calibrating my altitude will vary by 300ft. Not significant enough for a ballistics solution for my needs.

Every Kestrel will have some degree of error after being set at the factory. It's ultimately up to the user to determine if the errors are acceptable.

I hope I'm reading what you are asking.
__________________
Shoot CONFIDENT, Shoot SMART, Shoot STRAIGHT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2013, 07:38 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast
Posts: 2,331
Re: Kestrel help please!!!

I went through the same process owning a G7 Br2, and then buying a Terrapin. I had previous experience with Shooter and the Kestrel. As stated in a previous post, I had to calibrate the Kestral Alt/Pressure per the manual. Getting this squared away, I did get the exact same readings as my G7. However, after a season I went back to my G7 which was faster,easier, and gave up nothing to the Terrapin et al. I correct spin drift mentally with the G7 out past 800 yards. Don't get e wrong, the Terrapin is superb rangefinder, but for my hunting out to 1200 yards the G7's multifunction capability is hard to beat. I'll use the Terrapin, Shooter, Kestrel for my +1200 yard shooting where CE and SD have a more significant influence and the Terrapin's ranging power and narrow beam has the advantage.
__________________

"Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready"-T. Roosevelt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2013, 07:54 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,318
Re: Kestrel help please!!!

Try reading this thread and do what I did on it. Set your ref. Alt. To 0 and you won't have to worry about elevation. Just make sure that in shooter that "pressure is absolute" is on. This has worked for me out to 1780 yds. The link is below. I think my second post on there explains what I did. I don't know if the 4000 is the same as the 4500 though.

Kestrel help
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2013, 09:50 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 304
Re: Kestrel help please!!!

Thank you guys for your help I think I figured it out. Will shoot tomorrow to be sure. So since it is calibrated now (I think) say I go hunting somewhere I've never been, I won't have to re calibrate, correct? From what I was reading in the manual, it made it sound like I had to re-calibrate the kestrel every time I switched altitudes (hunting spots)
Which would be a pain considering I often go to places I've never been with friends, when we have no idea where we will even go.


Grey fox, thanks for your input, I'm still not sure if I do want to make the swap yet. Here my story. A few weeks ago I went out to fill my doe tag. Easy I thought. But I had my mind set that I would not just shoot the first Doe I saw, she hard to be far to make it fun! So I found what I was looking for, a doe a what I thought was 850+ yards. So I ranged her with the g7. Which came back 515 yds. So I was like there's no way?? She has to be ATLEAST 800. Problem I believe was she was behind a hill, and I believe the g7 was ranging the top of the hill due to its large laser beam, NOT the doe. So I lost the trophy doe because I wasn't confident in the G7. But in all reality, what if that were a 200" buck? I would never be able to look at the g7 again. And I would of had to watch the buck walk!! Which is what brought the terrapin into my mind. Because it has a way smaller beam. Make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2013, 10:18 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central MT
Posts: 731
Re: Kestrel help please!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by supercrossbmx69 View Post
I won't have to re calibrate, correct?
Correct, you should be ok.
__________________
Shoot CONFIDENT, Shoot SMART, Shoot STRAIGHT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2013, 10:31 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Yellowknife, NT Canada
Posts: 100
Re: Kestrel help please!!!

I think you are confusing barometric and station pressure (and maybe density altitude). It's not the easiest concept to grasp, and I screwed it up for a while until I did some research on it. To get the Kestrel to read and use station pressure accurately (or any other ballistics software), you need to set the altitude to zero. In my ballistics calculator (Gunsim) both the altitude and density altitude have to be set to zero and the station pressure from my Kestrel (with altitude of 0 input) inputted to get accurate data. The only reason to set the altitude to your actual altitude with the Kestrel is if you want to calculate barometric pressure. My explanation is probably confusing. Here's a good link.

Barometric Pressure and Ballistic Software
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC