Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

kestral 3500

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2010, 03:03 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 198
kestral 3500

my kestral 3500 turned up today i was reading through the manual and it said i needed to reset the altitude at a refrence point to make sure that its corrrect but then it said some ballistics programs need it to b set to zero. so now im confused do i just keep using it as is or do i need to reset it / calibrate it


thanks

lucas
__________________
what ya gonna shoot with that. ya know those deer that are just outta range for you. yeah. well there not 4 me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2010, 03:58 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Re: kestral 3500

I think you'll find that most guys have their Kestrels set to an altitude of "0". That way you'll be reading station pressure or the BP at your location. That's the way I have mine set.
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:22 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 198
Re: kestral 3500

Cool so altitude isn't so important, do I need to b at sea level before I set it 2 0

Thanks
Lucas
__________________
what ya gonna shoot with that. ya know those deer that are just outta range for you. yeah. well there not 4 me!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:43 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Re: kestral 3500

Just scroll to the BP window where you set the altitude and set the altitude to "0". Then when you get out of the calibration mode for that window you will be showing the BP at your location.
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2010, 02:09 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 198
Re: kestral 3500

went to the barro screen hit the 2 arrows then the alt symbol with ref came up and it was already set to 0 good bad, already set properly?


thanks

lucas
__________________
what ya gonna shoot with that. ya know those deer that are just outta range for you. yeah. well there not 4 me!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2010, 12:41 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Re: kestral 3500

Sounds like it's set properly. If you check the BP of your meter at your location and compare it to a known BP, like the airport etc., you will notice that your reading is probably lower. That is normal because of the way yours is set.
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2010, 03:11 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 198
Re: kestral 3500

rad thanks
__________________
what ya gonna shoot with that. ya know those deer that are just outta range for you. yeah. well there not 4 me!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: kestral 3500
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kestral with Horus Atrag??? helidriver72 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 14 08-17-2011 07:37 PM
Kestral 4000 Pocket Weather Station chuckgreen Other Stuff For Sale 3 05-19-2011 07:32 PM
Which Kestral should I get & why? joseph Long Range Hunting & Shooting 8 08-10-2010 02:46 AM
kestrel 3500 bowhunthard Equipment Discussions 6 10-18-2008 11:02 AM
3500 fps silvertip-co Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 10 08-19-2008 07:43 AM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 32.02%
81 Votes
NO - 50.59%
128 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.39%
44 Votes
Total Votes: 253
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC