Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

How do you choose the range you zero at?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2010, 02:45 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Salmon, Idaho
Posts: 392
How do you choose the range you zero at?

I use a modified version of the MPR (Maximum Poinblank Range) method. Using Sierra Infinity software to determine MPR I round to the nearest zero range, ie for a given rifle and a 10" vitals zone MPR Zero=301yds and MPR=355yds. I then change to the regular trajectory mode and set my zero at 300yds, close enough and easier to verify zero when I go to the range. This lets me not have to consider any holdover until my range is beyond 355yds (beyond where most of my shots have ever come) and I can print out a range card that gives me bullet path clear to 1000yds (600 is sufficient for my skill level) in increments of 50yds. Using data from my range card I sight the rifle in 3.9 inches high at 100yds then verify at 300 and go hunting knowing I don't have to worry about hold over at any normal ranges but armed with the knowledge to shoot a little further if needed.

What do you do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2010, 05:52 AM
Miller Outdoors
 
Posts: n/a
Re: How do you choose the range you zero at?

I zero everything at 100 yards, except .22 lr which is 50 yards. I'm not interested in hitting 'somewhere' in a 10 inch vital - that's just not quite good enough - I want to dial in exact yardage using a rangefinder and the turret.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2010, 05:59 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,033
Re: How do you choose the range you zero at?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miller Outdoors View Post
I zero everything at 100 yards, except .22 lr which is 50 yards. I'm not interested in hitting 'somewhere' in a 10 inch vital - that's just not quite good enough - I want to dial in exact yardage using a rangefinder and the turret.

+1 on the above. That is what I do also.

Tank
__________________
Matthew 7:13-14
"Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. [14] But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

If you find your self in a fair fight, your tactics suck!- Marine 1st Sergeant Jim Ryfinger

Friends don't let friends develop canonitis!-chucknbach

arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2010, 07:35 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 4,457
Re: How do you choose the range you zero at?

I take one shot at 100yrds measure and then move the turret for perfect windage as close to perfect vertical as I can then fire one more, if the windage is perfect and the elevation is high but under a couple inches I leave it and enter it into my ballistics program then verify. I do this all from my hunting position with hunting gear.
I used to try to sight in at a calculated high so I could shot to a certain distance without messing with stuff but I've done better worrying about getting windage spot on then leaving elevation alone as long as it's in a range. Using two spaced out shots to sight in gives me a good cold bore zero with no waste of time or ammo getting things perfect and the ballistics match much closer than any other way I've tried.
But I do not group shoot at 100yrd very well at all so for me this works best.
__________________
High Fence, Low Fence, Stuck in the Fence, if I can Tag it and Eat it, it's Hunting!

"Pain is weakness leaving your body"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2010, 07:46 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sturgis, MI
Posts: 732
Re: How do you choose the range you zero at?

I use maximum point blank range. For coyote hunting and groundhog huntin. I dial up for ghogs if past my pbr. Yotes come in fast and don't have time to mess with dials. But I only use a 3" above below range for both. I dial everything else but use a 200 yard zero.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2010, 10:23 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,497
Re: How do you choose the range you zero at?

fj40mojo,
I sight all my rifles in for 300yd zeros, make drop charts out to 1000yds and use a range finder. JohnnyK.
__________________
"The pleasure you get from life is equal to the attitude you put into it."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2010, 08:37 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: mi
Posts: 991
Re: How do you choose the range you zero at?

I 0 all of my long range rifles at 100 yards. My drop chart is in 50 yard increments out to 1000 yards then I go to 25 yard increments to 2500 yards all distances are in MOA + from 100 yards.
__________________
If you think something is not possible move out of the way so the ones that are doing it can
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: How do you choose the range you zero at?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choose your range finder? RangerBrad Long Range Hunting & Shooting 11 08-27-2011 11:18 AM
Which One to choose Midgetsniper Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 11 07-30-2011 08:06 PM
what would you choose jayph Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 3 03-20-2011 07:00 PM
Choose one! Bill Maylor Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 0 03-31-2010 12:12 PM
Help me choose grinnergetter Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 3 01-07-2008 10:50 PM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 31.80%
69 Votes
NO - 51.61%
112 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 16.59%
36 Votes
Total Votes: 217
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC