Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Help with the next rifle.........

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 08:57 PM

Help with the next rifle.........

Hello All,

I am new to rifles and will take possession of a Remington 700 SPS Tactical by the end of March. This will be my first rifle and will primarily be a range gun. I do plan to hunt deer in the fall and will practice with that goal in mind. The SPS will be a .308 caliper. I chose this caliper for its affordability.

On to the next rifle. I want this to be special and different. I need suggestions. I can see myself hunting larger game like elk out of state. I live in Maryland and there are a few ranges that are out to 600 yards that I think I can join with the help of an instructor.

Here are my questions. What out of the box rifle and caliper would fit the bill? Expense is an issue so my budget is $1,500 without the scope. Should I go with a 300 Remington Ultra Mag or a 7 mm remington mag? If so why and are the rounds affordable? I was thinking of the Remington Sendero or should I just get a 30 06 in a different rifle for the affordability? This purchase would not occur until July or August. I have a few fishing trips to pay for before then. I hope to go sharking in June.

All suggestions are welcome and thank you in advance.
Old 02-26-2011, 09:27 PM

Re: Help with the next rifle.........

One additional question. Would it be worth it to purchase a Weatherby Mark V Deluxe in the 30-06? Extra money spent on a quality rifle and an affordable cartridge. The Weatherby web site has this rifle at $2200. This is out of my range but is the stretch worth it?
Old 02-26-2011, 09:37 PM
Platinum Member

prettier than a sendero. if i got a mark v it would either be a 300 or a 257. more practical and accurate a 7mmrem mag sendero.
Old 02-26-2011, 09:55 PM

Quote: