Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

First blood with .257 Wby Mag.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2010, 03:42 PM
Platinum Member

Re: First blood with .257 Wby Mag.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike33 View Post
You don't need a heavy bullet like your looking for to take whitetail. I've been shooting 25's including 2 - 257 whby's for over 20 years and the 100 grain does the job. The best but they quit making it was the nosler solid base. The speer, sierra fb, bt and hornady will kill any whitetail you can hit. I wouldn't get real wrapped up in bc because the 25's does not have a great selection.
Mike
I know what you mean Mike. The 110 AccuBonds did an awesome job on that doe I shot....But I would like a little bit heavier bullet for a little bit larger game like Elk and Carribou. Plus a heavier bullet would have a better BC, therefore would make the .257 Wby have a little bit better ballistics after 500 yards.

This is just my thoughts. I am just brainstorming and trying to get some other opinions as to what others might think of this idea.

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Old 03-30-2010, 04:35 PM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudRunner2005 View Post
I know what you mean Mike. The 110 AccuBonds did an awesome job on that doe I shot....But I would like a little bit heavier bullet for a little bit larger game like Elk and Carribou. Plus a heavier bullet would have a better BC, therefore would make the .257 Wby have a little bit better ballistics after 500 yards.