close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Reply

exbal and spindrift

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Unread 09-10-2008, 07:05 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wampum, PA
Posts: 1,530
Re: exbal and spindrift

Quote:
Originally Posted by co17 View Post
FFS does account for spin drift.
Quote:
Originally Posted by co17 View Post
Exbal does it as well but you have to enter the value manually at your max. shooting distance.
The software then calculates the spin drift at all other distances



So FFS does a calculation to come up with a correction or does it require some kind of input like exbal?

I will have one hell of time knowing the difference between spin drift and wind pushing my bullet.
__________________
"I may be dumb, but I'm not stupid." - Terry Bradshaw
Reply With Quote
  •   #9  
    Unread 09-10-2008, 07:35 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Posts: 29
    Re: exbal and spindrift

    FFS calculates the spin drift and doesn't need any additional input other than right or left hand twist.
    The new version 4 is out now and it really rocks
    Reply With Quote

      #10  
    Unread 09-10-2008, 07:54 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: Wampum, PA
    Posts: 1,530
    Re: exbal and spindrift

    I was reading the info on both of there sites. Maybe I missed it but FFS doesn't require or need your altitude?

    I also couldn't find where exbal calibrates for your turrets not moving your POI exactly how th scope MFG says it is.
    ie., 1 click=1/4" or moa
    __________________
    "I may be dumb, but I'm not stupid." - Terry Bradshaw
    Reply With Quote
      #11  
    Unread 09-10-2008, 08:35 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Posts: 29
    Re: exbal and spindrift

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jmason View Post
    I was reading the info on both of there sites. Maybe I missed it but FFS doesn't require or need your altitude?

    I also couldn't find where exbal calibrates for your turrets not moving your POI exactly how th scope MFG says it is.
    ie., 1 click=1/4" or moa
    Any accurate calculation needs altitute and/or pressure depending on your settings and so does FFS.
    FFS has a calibration function but with Exbal you have to do the math yourself and then just input the real click value.
    Reply With Quote
      #12  
    Unread 09-10-2008, 08:57 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2005
    Location: Michigan
    Posts: 2,232
    Re: exbal and spindrift

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jmason View Post
    I was reading the info on both of there sites. Maybe I missed it but FFS doesn't require or need your altitude?

    I also couldn't find where exbal calibrates for your turrets not moving your POI exactly how th scope MFG says it is.
    ie., 1 click=1/4" or moa

    If you are talking about the PC version of Exbal, you can go into Options/Sight adjustment specs and set the clicks to custom. Values between .01 and 2 are accepted, you also set the units (MOA, Mil, IPHY, CPHM) .

    Hope this helps,
    AJ
    __________________
    If some is good and more is better, then too much is just right.


    My mind is a raging torrent, flooded with rivulets of thought, cascading into a waterfall of creative alternatives
    Reply With Quote
      #13  
    Unread 09-10-2008, 09:39 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: Wampum, PA
    Posts: 1,530
    Re: exbal and spindrift

    My questions are more geared to the field versions. However is it then possible to import the pc version data into your field device?

    I'm sorry for all the questions I'm just trying to work out what ever the differences are between these types of software.
    __________________
    "I may be dumb, but I'm not stupid." - Terry Bradshaw
    Reply With Quote
      #14  
    Unread 09-10-2008, 10:48 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Posts: 29
    Re: exbal and spindrift

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jmason View Post
    My questions are more geared to the field versions. However is it then possible to import the pc version data into your field device?

    I'm sorry for all the questions I'm just trying to work out what ever the differences are between these types of software.
    No need to import. You can do the same thing in the PDA version.

    I have both but I havn't used Exbal after I got the new version af FFS.
    FFS is, IMHO, by far the best software of the two.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: exbal and spindrift
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Exbal ???? remingtonman_25_06 The Basics, Starting Out 13 09-04-2008 04:58 AM
    .308 WIN Spindrift? NONYA Long Range Hunting & Shooting 10 09-03-2008 09:05 PM
    exbal Q?????? diderr Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 01-05-2008 11:05 PM
    A decent spindrift formula Blaine Fields Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 4 11-10-2003 04:06 PM
    Exbal Hunter Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 1 08-16-2003 01:59 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC