Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Poll: Do you wear hearing protection while hunting?
Poll Options
Do you wear hearing protection while hunting?

Do you wear hearing protection while hunting?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2013, 12:32 PM
Silver Member

Re: Do you wear hearing protection while hunting?

Both hunting and shooting range always with protection, we've got just one sense of hearing. If it's gone nobody can repair it! I usually use electronic protection like f. ex. Sordin.
Old 11-30-2013, 12:57 PM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creedmoor shooter View Post
Hearing protection just hampers your hearing ability
Guess it depends what yer using. I've been wearing ESP's digital aids for 12 years because I hunt a lot of waterfowl. Upgraded to the digital model a few years ago. They actually amplify sound if you turn them up. They'r also good for other things. When I worked in the office, we got a new boss who insisted on closing his door for every phone call. I'd pop in my hearing aids and could actually make out his conversation through the wall. Turned out the guy was a real prick and the aids helped save my job as they were trying to eliminate positions...
Old 11-30-2013, 01:07 PM

there's a lot of selection out on the market and don't get me wrong,I've worked oil/gas all my life and been around planes and heli's,I'll admit to hearing damage over the years,when I'm at the trapline there isn't a sound to be heard-manmade and I asked my pilot that I can hear a genset running and knowing there is not another human for a few hundred miles he say hearing damage.I was in a bad fire in 92 and burned my ears and now prone to ear infections,things in my ears bother me muffs don't always work.maybe in the new year I'll do some reserch
Old 11-30-2013, 05:09 PM
Bronze Member