Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

Do I have enough adjustment?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2007, 08:04 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87
Do I have enough adjustment?

Hey, guys, I need a little help with some mathematics. I want to know if I have enough adjustment in my scope and bases to shoot out to 1500 yards.

Here's my setup: 700SA, Hart 29-inch, heavy varmint contour, 10-twist, 6-groove barrel, chambered in 6x284, shooting Berger 95-grain VLDs at 3,350 FPS at 3,700 feet elevation. Temps will be around 70 degrees and 40% humidity. I have a 20 MOA Farrel base and a Nightforce 12x42x56 scope. Right now the scope is zeroed at 100 yards and is four clicks from bottoming out. Can I get out to 1,500 yards by clicking up?

I'm having to estimate the velocity because my Oehler quit on me. Someone out there might be able to give a better estimate of velocity if they have Quickload or similar software, but I am shooting a 52-grain load of H4831SC. I know this barrel gives 3,200 FPS with the 105 gr. A-Max and 50 grains of H4831SC.

My Sierra software shows a 601-inch drop at 1,500 yards from a 100 yard zero.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2007, 11:15 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Given the fact that your scope only has 40 moa and also that you don't want to bottom out your turrets at either end of their travel, then it looks like you can't make it. Depending on your scope and conditions you'd be close but you could only be sure by shooting and trying it.
__________________
ss7mm

Last edited by ss7mm; 10-11-2007 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2007, 11:52 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: FREE RUN, MS
Posts: 774
Just an idea but have you thought of changing to a diffenert recticle? one with multiple aiming marks? You didnt say which one you had just a thought my friend sent one in about a month ago and had it back in a week.
__________________
MEMBER "AM STRIKEFORCE"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2007, 12:03 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87
scope adjustment

Thanks, guys for the info. Nyles, you have a good idea. I do have the NP-R2 reticle with several two MOA elevation reticles in the scope which may give me just what I need to get there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2007, 07:52 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: FREE RUN, MS
Posts: 774
Yea you have it covered then thats an addtional 22 or 20 moa (15X 11 bars 22X 10 bars). I have one running around here in a UPS truck I should get today! Whos at home to sign at 2pm?

You will have to dail and use your R2 to get to 1500 but you can get there.

Dail 19.25 moa up and shoot bar 10! GOOD LUCK!

Remember 2 moa on full power 4 moa on 1/2 power.......Im no pro nor have I done this just yet but from best I can figure itll work.....any that knows better please chime in here.
__________________
MEMBER "AM STRIKEFORCE"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Do I have enough adjustment?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAC 15 scope adjustment az69ner PSE TAC 15/15i Crossbow Hunting Forum 4 05-02-2011 07:20 AM
Mil-Dot Adjustment over 700 yds. rkcolt45 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 0 04-08-2011 01:18 PM
VX-III adjustment montana_native Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 1 06-28-2009 01:35 PM
Elevation adjustment? Bosox Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 8 04-29-2007 04:27 PM
windage adjustment trb0 The Basics, Starting Out 6 01-09-2006 03:59 PM

Current Poll
Do you wear hearing protection while hunting?

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC