Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Device to run ballistic program

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2010, 11:05 PM
Bronze Member

Device to run ballistic program

I need a hand held device to download my software from my PC, so I can use the program in the field. Not sure which way to go. I'm using Sierra's Infinity. Some folks I see, have picked up Axim's off of E-Bay? I need it only for this application only, without all the bells and whistles of GPS, etc.
Thanks, Gary
Old 06-29-2010, 04:36 PM
Gold Member

Re: Device to run ballistic program

cheapest solution is to get the Ipod touch and then download a ballistic program that they have. I have no experience with it but the reviews are good on it from here. The problem with anyof those things is they take time to input all figures and I can't see anything on them when there is a glare out.
Old 06-29-2010, 04:39 PM
Gold Member

My htc smartphone runs exbal flawlessly! I like them, the htc's run windows programs so it allakes sense to me
Old 06-29-2010, 09:54 PM
Bronze Member

So we are talking about smart phones here. I have resisted the urge to get one, simply because I don't need all it's capabilities, along with the larger dimensions, compared to my "flip phone"that carries nicely in my pants pocket. But alas,
I may have to go down that road. I'm with Verizon, and I reckon the "Droid" will do the same thing?
I would need to find out if the "Droid" will handle Windows?
Old 06-29-2010, 10:17 PM
Silver Member

The [I]pod touch isnt a smart phone just a ipod with wifi capabilities, I have one and downloaded the ballistic program for 20 bucks and love it, just waiting to be able to get the iphone here so I can use the program to its fullest potential
Old 06-29-2010, 10:26 PM
Platinum Member