Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Building my first rifle.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2011, 08:21 AM
Bronze Member

Building my first rifle.

Hi everyone. I have been following this site for awhile and decided to register. There is alot of great info here. I am fairly new to long range shooting. I have 2 custom mcwhorter rifles. One in 270wby and another in 243wssm. I want another nice rifle in some form of 30 cal. but this time I have the urge to order the components and do the work myself. I have fooled around a little with single shot rifles like the TC encore but have not done any work on a bolt action rifle.
I was thinking of buying the action, barrel, stock, etc.. as well as the tools needed and putting the thing together at home. Is this something that a novice like me can do safely. Does anyone have any suggestions of any videos or books that I can pick up on this. I am fairly technically capable and am good with my hands. I just think I would get more satisfaction out of something that I had an input on.
I do not have a lathe so I would have to buy a chambered barrel. Any suggestions on barrel, action, stock, etc.. combos that would be good for a first time builder.

Thanks in advance for any advice!!!!
BOB
Old 01-27-2011, 01:09 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Building my first rifle.

Without a lathe or a smith, you need to strongly consider a Savage. Look at this thread...
Savage 12 F-Class Rebarrel

I'm going through something similar and also wanting to buy a lathe at some point. But, Savage is the only way to go if you want to do it all yourself.

Also, you can buy just the action from Savage.