Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Broke the 500 yard barrier finally

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2003, 09:38 PM
Silver Member

Re: Broke the 500 yard barrier finally

Skinny, Don't have a mil-dot master, but was thinking of getting one, don't have to many places around here to shoot past 300yds. I'm pretty new to LR stuff and alot of these new terms, so could you explain to me what is meant by "dialing up in MOA" All I know is a MOA is 1" @100yds etc. etc. Larry at Burris has a 6mm also, and he tells me he zeros his 4.5-14 Fullfield w/Bal. mil-dot at 400yds and he's good out to 1000yds. I was going to tell you, the 175s will work better at 1000yds going from what I saw on last weeks thread for a question about the 308, if thats your ultimate goal. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] Jay
Old 04-30-2003, 11:56 PM
Platinum Member

Allen,

you're hooked now ain't ya!

Seeing as you're using the JBM program, you might like the Exbal program better with the Mil-Dots you are using, it's pretty damn cool, and for only 25 bucks too!

I like the 155's best in the 308win for targets and the smaller stuff. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Old 05-01-2003, 02:45 AM
Platinum Member

Brent i think Gerald's gotten a little rich on us as i believe the program is now $40, but of course still the best out there by a good margin.

Jay, Exbal is tailor-made for the Burris scopes as he has the Ballistic Plex reticle on the program for instantant calculations, and Ballistic Mil-Dot in user-specified mode. If you use this program, you'll wonder why everyone else is so far behind. www.perry-systems.com
Old 05-01-2003, 03:46 AM
Platinum Member