Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Breaking in a New Barrel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2009, 08:16 PM
Bronze Member

Breaking in a New Barrel

I recently purchased a Remington 700 rifle in 308 caliber. Ive never had a new rifle where breaking in a barrel was a concern. The question i got is, after how many rounds would it take from a new rifle before you can say your zero will not be affected from other than environmental factors?

Im still new at this, but any help would be great.

Thanks
Shayne
Old 09-03-2009, 09:14 PM
Gold Member

Re: Breaking in a New Barrel

here is good link someone asked same question 5 years ago, but nothing changed since
breaking a barrel

Last edited by Jinx-); 09-03-2009 at 10:59 PM.
Old 09-04-2009, 06:32 AM
Bronze Member

Thanks
Old 09-04-2009, 08:00 AM
Platinum Member

That's funny, I just checked that link and there was a guy by the name of Hooter Shooter. That's funny!
Matthew 7:13-14
"Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. [14] But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

If you find your self in a fair fight, your tactics suck!- Marine 1st Sergeant Jim Ryfinger

Friends don't let friends develop canonitis!-chucknbach

arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!
Old 09-04-2009, 08:40 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by SZairborne View Post
I recently purchased a Remington 700 rifle in 308 caliber. Ive never had a new rifle where breaking in a barrel was a concern. The question i got is, after how many rounds would it take from a new rifle before you can say your zero will not be affected from other than environmental factors?

Thanks
Shayne
Hi Shayne,