Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

brake on 300 wsm

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2004, 09:03 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 198
brake on 300 wsm

Hey guys, I was wondering if any of yall would suggestme putiing a brake on my 300 wsm and if so wich one? Just to let you now what I have it is a savage 12 bvss.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2004, 09:41 AM
Official LRH Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fort Shaw, Montana
Posts: 6,831
Re: brake on 300 wsm

I have fitted several Holland QD brakes to my customers 300 WSM rifles and they have always been happy with the results.

On your heavier rifle the resutls will not be as dramatica as they would be on a light rifle but the recoil will certainly be cut by a noticable amount.

I use only Holland QDs as they are the best all around hunting and shooting brake I have tested yet as well as being a good looking brake.

GOod Shooting!!!

Kirby Allen(50)
__________________
Kirby Allen(50)

Allen Precision Shooting
Home of the Allen Magnum, Allen Xpress and Allen Tactical Wildcats and the Painkiller Muzzle brakes.

Farther, Faster and Flatter then ever before.

Web Page: www.apsrifles.com

allenmagnum@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2004, 11:32 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 521
Re: brake on 300 wsm

Have worked up loads on several 300 WSM rifles for friends. On one Win 70, we installed a Vais muzzle brake with great success. Noise was not raised too bad, and recoil dropped to 308 level. Very impressive and really helped my recoil sensitive friend. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2004, 07:58 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 107
Re: brake on 300 wsm

I would only put a brake on it if you want to enjoy shooting it [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

I put an Ops Inc on my 300 WM and I love it. Additional noise is really only noticeable when I'm shooting at our range under the covered shooting area. In the field there's not much if any difference. Just don't be standing to the side of it when someone else is shooting it.

By the way, it now feels like I'm shooting my .308.

[ 11-26-2004: Message edited by: Corbett ]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2004, 09:04 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 323
Re: brake on 300 wsm

Ops Inc brake all the way. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]http://www.opsinc.us/brake.php
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: brake on 300 wsm
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Brake? Tikkamike Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 27 06-22-2010 10:04 AM
What brake is this? Diezel Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 8 11-29-2007 05:12 AM
To brake or not to brake??? shasky Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 19 06-16-2006 07:25 PM
Where to find a brake like the Serbu shark brake? Kanab Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 1 03-23-2005 07:26 PM
Brake Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 0 04-17-2004 07:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC