close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Reply

brake on 300 wsm

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 11-25-2004, 09:03 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 201
brake on 300 wsm

Hey guys, I was wondering if any of yall would suggestme putiing a brake on my 300 wsm and if so wich one? Just to let you now what I have it is a savage 12 bvss.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 11-25-2004, 09:41 AM
    Official LRH Sponsor
     
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: Fort Shaw, Montana
    Posts: 6,847
    Re: brake on 300 wsm

    I have fitted several Holland QD brakes to my customers 300 WSM rifles and they have always been happy with the results.

    On your heavier rifle the resutls will not be as dramatica as they would be on a light rifle but the recoil will certainly be cut by a noticable amount.

    I use only Holland QDs as they are the best all around hunting and shooting brake I have tested yet as well as being a good looking brake.

    GOod Shooting!!!

    Kirby Allen(50)
    __________________
    Kirby Allen(50)

    Allen Precision Shooting
    Home of the Allen Magnum, Allen Xpress and Allen Tactical Wildcats and the Painkiller Muzzle brakes.

    Farther, Faster and Flatter then ever before.

    Web Page: www.apsrifles.com

    allenmagnum@gmail.com
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 11-25-2004, 11:32 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Spokane, WA
    Posts: 521
    Re: brake on 300 wsm

    Have worked up loads on several 300 WSM rifles for friends. On one Win 70, we installed a Vais muzzle brake with great success. Noise was not raised too bad, and recoil dropped to 308 level. Very impressive and really helped my recoil sensitive friend. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 11-26-2004, 07:58 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2003
    Location: Gilbert, AZ
    Posts: 107
    Re: brake on 300 wsm

    I would only put a brake on it if you want to enjoy shooting it [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

    I put an Ops Inc on my 300 WM and I love it. Additional noise is really only noticeable when I'm shooting at our range under the covered shooting area. In the field there's not much if any difference. Just don't be standing to the side of it when someone else is shooting it.

    By the way, it now feels like I'm shooting my .308.

    [ 11-26-2004: Message edited by: Corbett ]
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 11-26-2004, 09:04 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Wisconsin
    Posts: 323
    Re: brake on 300 wsm

    Ops Inc brake all the way. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]http://www.opsinc.us/brake.php
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: brake on 300 wsm
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Which Brake? Tikkamike Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 27 06-22-2010 10:04 AM
    What brake is this? Diezel Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 8 11-29-2007 05:12 AM
    To brake or not to brake??? shasky Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 19 06-16-2006 07:25 PM
    Where to find a brake like the Serbu shark brake? Kanab Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 1 03-23-2005 07:26 PM
    Brake Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 0 04-17-2004 07:01 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC