Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Base and ring combo advise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2011, 11:00 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Base and ring combo advise

Perhaps just personal preference, but I like the groove that Nightforce and EGW put down the centerline of their rails.

I don't see that in the pictures of Seekins and have no experience with their products.

Nightforce puts a lip on theirs behind the front seating area. Supposedly that helps absorb recoil. But, it's pretty useless unless you bed it since it's not custom machined for your rifle and must therefore allow some tolerance.

I have seen some cheaply made rails that I would not use. But, NF, Leupold, EGW are all quality products. Seekins also looks good on their website, but I've had no first hand experience with them.

I like the 6 cap screws on the Burris XTR rings. I feel you can get a good even grip without straining. I have not tried any other picatinny rings.

Also, take a look at what Michael Eichele had to say about bedding the base:
new custom cant get to shoot
I've never had that problem. But, some have.

If you pay attention to your install, I think you'll be pleased with any of the ones discussed.

-- richard
Old 02-19-2011, 11:16 AM
Platinum Member

The Seekings rings are a little cleaner, and dont have the 1/2 nut sticking out of the side, I have both styles. I like to have rails so I can switch scope easy if one goes down.
Old 02-19-2011, 03:40 PM
Gold Member

Well upon further investigation I discovered that the seekens rings only come in low (.75") for the 1" tube scope that I have. Does anyone know if these will work for a 50mm scope, seems like it might be to low. I sent an email to seekins to ask the same question but figured I would ask here as well. I will post what they say from seekins as well.
Old 02-19-2011, 08:25 PM