Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Asking the experts..

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 03:24 PM
Bronze Member

Asking the experts..

Since many here I consider to know just about anything and everything possible concerning shooting at extended ranges, I figgered this would be the place to ask this question....Would it be even remotely possible for ANYONE to consistently make 700-800 shots on running big game animals? In this particular case, there is a guy on another forum claiming he makes these shots on Whitetail deer with ease. I figured lead distance, bullet drop as well as I know how and can't see any way this guy isn't full of it.
Old 02-21-2010, 03:29 PM
Silver Member

Re: Asking the experts..

I'm not buying into it. But I'm no expert.
Old 02-21-2010, 03:44 PM
Official LRH Sponsor

I am certainly no expert on running shots on game at long range or any range for that matter but I would say there are not alot of guys out there that have studied and hunted whitetail deer any harder or more seriously then I have. This is my problem with the question posed.

A. IS it possible to make these shots, possible yes, likely NO.

B. To make these shots, the shooter has to be perfect, not only that the target animal must be traveling in a consistant direction, consistant speed and remain at a consistant elevation. In my experience, a whitetail deer WILL Rarely do any of these. That very common "Whitetail Bounce" would cause severe problems making consistant shots. This is when a whitetail is running smoothly and then for no apparent reason, takes a 20 foot bound and then starts running smooth again, then another bound, very inconsistant and IMPOSSIBLE to predict.