Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

AR30 Set up?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2005, 10:40 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 644
AR30 Set up?

I have a AR30 , Cal. 338 LM
It has factory 26 inch barrel and muzzle break
15-MINUTE scope RAIL
Nightforce 8-32 scope
Badger Heavy duty Medium Rings
What are some good loads for this gun for 1K plus hunting?
Also will the scope reach 1500 meters with 15MOA Rail?
I think the Scope is 1/8th MOA clicks?
__________________
B4
SOTIC Class: 93-06
DA Class: 08-93
Rakkasan

U.S. Army Sniper
"Opening Minds Worldwide"

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2005, 08:59 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 61
Re: AR30 Set up?

I have good luck with 91 grs of 4831( Work up to this one) with the 250 gr MK...I have not been able to get much out of the 300 gr MK as it is limited by the 26" barrel...I have a Mark V with a 33" tube and do much better with the 300 MK and H870....Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2005, 08:50 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: on the rifle range in Utah
Posts: 2,723
Re: AR30 Set up?

[ QUOTE ]
What are some good loads for this gun for 1K plus hunting?
Also will the scope reach 1500 meters with 15MOA Rail?
I think the Scope is 1/8th MOA clicks?

[/ QUOTE ]


Lapua brass or Norma?

Yes, 1500 with no problem.

Should be 1/4" clicks.
__________________
Find it
Range it
Click it
Pull it
Dump it

If it's not far, it's boring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:13 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,310
Re: AR30 Set up?

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
What are some good loads for this gun for 1K plus hunting?
Also will the scope reach 1500 meters with 15MOA Rail?
I think the Scope is 1/8th MOA clicks?

[/ QUOTE ]


Lapua brass or Norma?

Yes, 1500 with no problem.

Should be 1/4" clicks.

[/ QUOTE ]

James -- the BR model has 1/8th min and the nxs has 1/4 -- you must have the BR model

if so, they are pretty limited on adjustment

the NXS has 65MOA total and the BR has only 50.

1500M = 1640yds

Means the only way you can CLICK to 1500m is if your windage is perfectly centered, and you have ALL your elevation available, as it will take all of that 50MOA (plus maybe some holdover) to get there -- according to JBM

20moa base will give you a better chance at exploiting all your clicks.

CHeers,
JB

p.s. -- vids show up yet?
__________________
Check it Out!!--> Shoot the Smack The Smiley Match...and help AmericanSnipers.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2005, 04:57 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Casper Wy
Posts: 1,308
Re: AR30 Set up?

He can get there easier useing the dots and dashes of the NP-1RR reticle in the scope.Just gota figure it out as the NP-1 are not equaly distributed like the NP-2.Kinda like the NP-2 or MP-8(IOR)myself because it is easier to zero @ 100(useing the top tic) and click and or hold over to get that far.
Was about to send that scope back to have the reticle changed when the 35mmIOR trade took place.
Wish I could help with the 338LM but that round is still in the dream stage for me.Just pickt up a 308 Baer so we's gettin closer [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
CJ
__________________
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." -Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:18 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: on the rifle range in Utah
Posts: 2,723
Re: AR30 Set up?

If it truly is a BR model, than it is 1/8 moa therefore you only have 50 total minutes of travel and if you want your scope optically centered, you will only have 25 or so. Even if you put a 20 minute rail on instead of your 15 that you mentioned, you will not have enough adjustment.

Heres why:

1500 meters equals 164<font color="red">1</font> yards, not 1640 like earlier mentioned (not that one yard is going to make a diff).

A good load of RL22 at 89 grains will launch a 250 MK at about 3000 fps. Zeroed at 100 yards, this combo needs 52.4 mimutes of elevation for a 1500 meter zero at my elevation of 5000 feet above sea level. A 20 minute insert would not do it because you would only have 25 in your scope, and 20 in a base (and that is if your receiver is perfectly flat and you don't lose some in slop of the workmanship) and you need 52.


A 300 MK launched at 2750 by a good charge of 91 grains of RL25 needs 54 minutes which is still too many. 1500 meters is a LOOONG WAAAY! Even 50 bmg's need some serious cranking up to get there.


What you can do is get a Ken Farrell base with 20 minutes built into it, then get Burris Posi-align rings and put in 10 or 20 more minutes in the inserts and you will be there. Or you can swap that BR model for an NXS and get a 20 rail and get there too.
When I responded earlier, I guessed that you were using an NXS model with more internal adjustment.

hope this helps. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Find it
Range it
Click it
Pull it
Dump it

If it's not far, it's boring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:22 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: on the rifle range in Utah
Posts: 2,723
Re: AR30 Set up?

I have looked through the np-2 reticle at 1500 yards (not 1500 meters) and it was very difficult to use that way at that far of a distance. For that long of sport, it becomes for the most part a game of clicking in correction to the yard. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Find it
Range it
Click it
Pull it
Dump it

If it's not far, it's boring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: AR30 Set up?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AR30 fmsniper Equipment Discussions 10 03-07-2012 07:56 PM
AR30 338 Lapua JUDD Guns For Sale 23 01-09-2011 08:09 PM
AR30 338 Lapua Magazine JUDD Gun Parts - Stocks, Barrels, Actions, etc. 1 10-25-2010 09:15 AM
armalite ar30 dogear Equipment Discussions 1 06-21-2004 05:33 PM
Armalite AR30/ 338 Lapua DixieFreedom Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 0 01-09-2004 05:38 AM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 34.32%
116 Votes
NO - 48.52%
164 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.16%
58 Votes
Total Votes: 338
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC