Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Any thoughts,400 yards?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2009, 06:15 AM

Any thoughts,400 yards?

I was shooting yesterday at 400 yards with my .308 PSS using 168 vlds,it was blowing between 12 and 17 mph at 12 o'clock and i was only managing 4" groups,normally it would do half of that or so. What i wondered was will a straight on headwind affect group size much?
I'm fairly new to this and just teaching myself and reading in places like this!
Any help or opinions would be appreciated. Thank you.
Old 01-25-2009, 09:22 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Any thoughts,400 yards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmer7 View Post
I was shooting yesterday at 400 yards with my .308 PSS using 168 vlds,it was blowing between 12 and 17 mph at 12 o'clock and i was only managing 4" groups,normally it would do half of that or so. What i wondered was will a straight on headwind affect group size much?
I'm fairly new to this and just teaching myself and reading in places like this!
Any help or opinions would be appreciated. Thank you.
Yes it will effect group size because of wind speed changes and even though
it appears to be comming strait at you the direction will change/swing a few
degrees left or right.

At 1000 yards I have seen the wind ( With Flags at every 100yrds )blowing in 3
different directions and still feel the same at the firing line.

This is the reason that a lot of people like BIG FAST BULLETS for long range,less
flight time, more mass and better BC's.

The lighter the bullet the more effect the wind will have on it.

J E CUSTOM
Old 01-25-2009, 10:52 AM
Platinum Member