Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Advice on a gun?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2009, 10:33 PM

Advice on a gun?

I am new to the long range world and have been trying to make up my mind on a new gun. Now, I'm not really looking to get into the real long range target stuff. I am more interested in being able to hunt confidently out to about 500 yards. I'll be hunting mainly whitetails and hogs. The link below is the gun I am looking into buying. Any thoughts or comments? According to the text I am planning on putting a new trigger in it. Any advice would be appreciated

Bushnell/Bausch&Lomb Elite 4000/4200
Old 12-08-2009, 10:34 PM

Re: Advice on a gun?

sorry pasted the wrong link

its remington 700 SPS Tactical
Old 12-09-2009, 12:23 AM
Bronze Member

While I doubt the .308 version capable of hitting at long range, my question is does it have the energy left to humanely take deer? Myself, I've always considered the .308 best at 350 yards and closer. Perhaps I am among the "overkill" crowd but I consider 500 yards a stretch for ANY non magnum rifle cartridge. Just my .002.....
Old 12-09-2009, 02:42 AM
Gold Member

There are a few things about the rifle that I don't prefer. First is the caliber, I am not a fan of the .308. I know that there are many people that are, I'm just not one of them. The 20" barrel and the stock are the other things. Keep in mind that if this rifle fits what YOU need it for, then it may be the best for YOU.

If I were looking for a rifle with your requirements, I would look at a 700 Sendero SF II chambered in 7mm Rem Mag.

The Remington website doesn't have the 700 SPS Tactical listed. Maybe it's a discontinued model.

"Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet."