Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Action Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2010, 09:19 PM

Action Question

Ok here's the deal, As you may guess i am new to the long range hunting thing, although its something that has interested me for years now. I have struggled with what bullet i wanted for a while but I think I will settle for a 280. I hunt primarily in Tx. but would like to be able to hunt bigger game up North if I can ever get time and money on my side. I plan on starting my first build soon and I have a few questions.
What action should I choose? (Leaning towards Remmington)
Is there a certain model thats better than the rest and why?
Is there any reason why I should stay with a 3006 which was my first choice a year or so ago?
Any insight I can get from yall would be much appreciated.
Old 12-19-2010, 09:35 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Action Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by beattie buk View Post
Ok here's the deal, As you may guess i am new to the long range hunting thing, although its something that has interested me for years now. I have struggled with what bullet i wanted for a while but I think I will settle for a 280. I hunt primarily in Tx. but would like to be able to hunt bigger game up North if I can ever get time and money on my side. I plan on starting my first build soon and I have a few questions.
What action should I choose? (Leaning towards Remmington)
Is there a certain model thats better than the rest and why?
Is there any reason why I should stay with a 3006 which was my first choice a year or so ago?
Any insight I can get from yall would be much appreciated.
The 700 Remington action is the easiest to find and has after market parts for everything.

With good smithing they are great performers.