close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

Reply

ACI Scope Mount

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-14-2012, 11:34 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
ACI Scope Mount

Hello,

I'm new to this so please bare with me.

I would like to mount an ACI on my hunting rig, but don't want to change my rings and bases. I was thinking of using system that mounts directly on my scope. ACI Scope Tube Mount

My scope is a Zeiss Diavari FL 4x16 w/ a 30mm tube and my rifle caliber is a 30-378 wby that weighs w/ scope about 9.5 lbs.

Will this system damage my scope or effect my zero in any way with the recoil? Are there any disadvantages to this system? What are you guys thoughts on this?

Thanks so much in advance!
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 02-14-2012, 06:09 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Location: Utah
    Posts: 1,375
    Re: ACI Scope Mount

    No issues. They work well.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 02-15-2012, 12:09 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Gillette, WY
    Posts: 2,994
    Re: ACI Scope Mount

    No, it shouldn't hurt anything, there are several different variations of tube mounted ACI's & I haven't heard any cons regarding the quality designs.
    Do you have a ACD yet? If not, this might be a great way to go:

    Levels | Flatline Ops
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 02-15-2012, 12:37 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2004
    Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
    Posts: 8,859
    Re: ACI Scope Mount

    I happen to have one of these as shown in the pic. It's a nightforce for a picatinny base.

    New in box never mounted. No room for it on the base as the set up require 4 sets of NF rings.

    Retail appears to be $199.00 or so. Lemme know if you have interest.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to View Larger
    ACI Scope Mount-aci-picatinny-mount.jpg  
    __________________
    I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 02-15-2012, 02:01 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: Centre County, Pa
    Posts: 240
    Re: ACI Scope Mount

    I would stay away from the Horus ACI/ACD!!! Liltank and I bought one for our rigs. The one I got would fall out of the mount when I would shoot from the recoil and I had it as tight as it would go and the ACI was not on it was like 3* off. Ours are mounted on the scope tubes also. Liltank originally had the one that mounted on the rail but was not able to get it to be level when he tightened it up, so he sent it back for the scope mount type. I have since gotten a different one. You can kind of see it in the picture below.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to View Larger
    ACI Scope Mount-015.jpg  
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 02-16-2012, 12:00 AM
    dig dig is offline
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Location: Arizona
    Posts: 662
    Re: ACI Scope Mount

    The Horus is a great unit offering 2 in one and showing anlge in actual angle or in % of range. Its true they come lose in the big calibers I use a liberal amount of Locktite and solved the issue. I am using a rail mount as apposed to scope mount.
    __________________
    Digger
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 02-16-2012, 09:40 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Gillette, WY
    Posts: 2,994
    Re: ACI Scope Mount

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dig View Post
    The Horus is a great unit offering 2 in one and showing anlge in actual angle or in % of range. Its true they come lose in the big calibers I use a liberal amount of Locktite and solved the issue. I am using a rail mount as apposed to scope mount.
    I was stoked when I received my Horus unit w/rail adapter, mounted it on my 338 RUM.... & it came loose after ~6-10 rounds !! Holy bat Sh&$!!! That isn't supposed to happen.....lol So I put it back on w/ a little more tension on that iddy biddy screw (& I mean small). I think it went 15 or so before it came loose again.

    So I then ordered the tube mount for it thinking it might be helpful.... well, the dang adjustment bottoms out before fully clamping onto the ACI unit, you can actually move it by hand!! Jeeze....(insert face palm) the unit is really nice but I've given up...
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: ACI Scope Mount
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    how to mount scope in QD mount rjackh AR15/10 Rifles 1 09-08-2011 03:14 PM
    WTT? SAI M1a with SEI steel scope mount and Vortex Viper scope. mtbikerwvu Guns For Sale 3 06-22-2011 02:32 AM
    how to mount the scope bigrich954rr Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 4 11-03-2004 04:41 PM
    M1A/M14 Scope Mount Tallyman Guns For Sale 0 10-23-2004 04:34 PM
    F/S A.R.M.S #18 scope mount bones Guns For Sale 0 04-18-2002 05:17 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC