Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

7mm stw

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2013, 09:24 PM

7mm stw

My first post joined a while back but never got around to posting, hello to all. I am in the process of having a 7mm stw build and am looking at using 150g swift scirrocco 11 bullets. have done some ballistic calculations and from what I have found may have .25-.4 MOA windage at 1000 yards but 25+ MOA less drop. I am looking for any and all opnions as I am new to this game and appreciate all the advice and recipes any one may put forward. Thanks in advance Jim.
Old 12-09-2013, 09:32 PM
Silver Member

Re: 7mm stw

With all that horsepower stick with the bigger bullets. I don't have a STW but if I did I would be looking hard at the Berger 180 gr. BC of .659 would be hard to beat.

I suspect the Scirroco will be a grenade when it hits. Might be driving them too fast depending on your twist also.
Old 12-09-2013, 09:51 PM

twist is 1-8.5 out of a kreiger #16 palma barrel finished at 30' before break. doing some calculations will have same velocity at 1000 yards but around 50-80 fps less with .25-.4 MOA more windage. I have been using the scirocco 11's in several 7's for many years and knw they do their part if I do mine. I couple friends are getting 3400-3500 fps with same set up.
Old 12-09-2013, 10:20 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jagilks View Post