Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

.338 lapua model 700 build?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2009, 10:58 PM

Re: .338 lapua model 700 build?

So the concern with the 338 lapua caliber on a model 700 is that the bolt face has to be enlarged (on a endmill) to chamber the wider lapua case, leaving alot less meat on the bolt? And possilby making the rifle less safe in the event of a failure?
Will the bolt have to be opened up for a 338 edge on my existing action? (7mm rem mag)? Sorry guys I am a millwright by trade but alot of this gunsmith terms and procedures are new to me, I do have some machinist skills.
Old 01-22-2009, 11:09 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BountyHunter View Post
I would look at a 338 Edge on a stock 700 action. I am just not a fan of opening the bolt face that much for the Lapua round., very little margin of error there. The edge will be might close on MV anyway and lot easier to do.

Just my opinion which will differ from some.

BH
+1

It can be done but a long with the thin bolt face shroud the extractor will be very thin
and fragile.

Most gunsmiths will not recomend opening up the remingtion bolt face shroud that much
and when you compare the 338 RUM .338 edge and the 338 Lupua bllistics there is very
little difference in velocity.

Just my 2 cents also
J E CUSTOM
Old 01-22-2009, 11:51 PM
Platinum Member

As far as the scope is concerned, I would have no hesitation to use your 6500. The Elite series is a very substantial scope compared to the banner series or any of their cheaper models. I have seen and used the 4200 Elite and it is very rigid. Sniper Central has a report on the Elite and he builds sniper grade rifles using the 3200 series. Keep and use the bushnell. It might suprise you how well it will work.