Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics

270 wsm

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2011, 03:57 PM

270 wsm

I've been hunting with a Tikki T3 Lite for several years. I'm shooting a 270 wsm cartridge and I'm pretty happy with it. The open country I hunt may involve some long shots. The rifle is reasonably accurate but everything I've read suggests that Savage is substantially more accurate at long range.

Does Savage make a SS, heavy barreled hunting rifle in 270 WSM? I've browsed their home page and I'm not seeing it.
Old 11-11-2011, 08:38 PM
Platinum Member

Re: 270 wsm

I think Savage quit the Model 12 FVSS last year, I shoot one in a 270 WSM that has been rebarreled and it is great long range medicine with a 165 Matrix. It would be no problem getting one from the Savage custom shop at a reasonable price from what I've heard.

"Pain is weakness leaving your body"
Old 11-11-2011, 09:05 PM

The Tikka came in at 6lb 6oz and it does knock me around some. Even with a Kahles 4-12X52 and a Harris bipod. I was looking for the added rigidity of a heavy barrel as well as the added weight. Every pound counts.

I could buy one and get a heavy barrel replacement for the standard tube. However, that would also require a replacement stock or a reworking of a wood one. I need to think about this. As noted above, the Savages are apparently really accurate. I even looked at the Varmint and tactical units but none are in that caliber and they are heavier than I want to drag around.

Thanks for the information.
Old 11-11-2011, 09:46 PM
Silver Member

I dont own a savage, but I think you're going to have a hard time beating the accuracy of the tikka in that price range. I do own a tikka and it's a one-holer.
Old 11-11-2011, 10:22 PM
Official LRH Sponsor