Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

2 front studs on stock?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2010, 09:18 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Roseburg, Oregon
Posts: 300
2 front studs on stock?

Im about to order a Manners stock. Do you guys run two studs up front? One for bipod and one for sling?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2010, 10:08 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 35
Re: 2 front studs on stock?

I do, really helps when you have a bi-pod, usually the bi pod digs into my shoulder, not anymore haha.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2011, 12:57 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 114
Re: 2 front studs on stock?

you could get one up front, then flush cup bases all over
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
http://www.pinkpistols.org/antigun.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2011, 01:30 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Re: 2 front studs on stock?

I use a stud for the bipod and a flush cup behind it for the sling. Remember to put the rear stud or cup farther to the rear if you plan on adding a Podlock to the bipod.
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2011, 06:17 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 865
Re: 2 front studs on stock?

I got an A-5 for a friend.....you could not use both studs. i planned on using the front stud for the bipod and the second one for the sling. NO-GO. Maybe I need to try a differant bipod. I have a Harris with the swival. It does not rotate L-R, but side to side for un-even ground. I ended up using the sling attachment on the bipod.

Does a strait, no frills Harris work?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:24 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Roseburg, Oregon
Posts: 300
Re: 2 front studs on stock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4xforfun View Post
I got an A-5 for a friend.....you could not use both studs. i planned on using the front stud for the bipod and the second one for the sling. NO-GO. Maybe I need to try a differant bipod. I have a Harris with the swival. It does not rotate L-R, but side to side for un-even ground. I ended up using the sling attachment on the bipod.

Does a strait, no frills Harris work?
I have a Harris pivot as well, so will this not work with two front studs? I need to tell Manners what setup i need to i can use my Harris bipod. Should i go standard stud up front then a couple flush cups for sling?

Last edited by emmagator; 01-05-2011 at 10:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2011, 12:55 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bakersfield, Ca
Posts: 554
Re: 2 front studs on stock?

I also have a side to side pivot harris and mine works with a sling with 2 studs up front, just have your stock builder put one stud and add another yourself in the roper spacing.
__________________
"I'm interested in rifles, but only accurate rifles are interesting". Col. Townsend Whelen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: 2 front studs on stock?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AR15 Front Sight ...In front of Scope TnTom Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 5 05-10-2011 12:34 PM
swivel studs for Mcmillan A-3? D.S. Gunsmithing 3 04-04-2008 05:37 PM
Leupold ERT 8.5-25x50mm Front Focal Plane Mark 4's in stock w/ TMR & Mil Dot Reticles Don - In Idaho Optics For Sale 0 10-04-2007 12:58 PM
Leupold Front Focal Plane Mark 4's finally in stock Don - In Idaho Optics For Sale 0 10-04-2007 09:59 AM
Sling Studs winmagman General Discussion 1 06-27-2005 08:53 PM

Current Poll
I currently have hunting preference points in the following states

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC