Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Long Range Hunting & Shooting

Long Range Hunting & Shooting Nightforce Optics


Reply

100yd or 200yd zero?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #36  
Old 04-01-2013, 11:22 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 3,460
Re: 100yd or 200yd zero?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ICANHITHIMMAN View Post
Do everything he said, It was not what I thought I was going to see and I'm pleased. As said before the scope should have more than enough adjustment. Bed the base and the stock while you ate it to.
I'm honored. I actually typed it out and stated it right... Not bad for a 63 years old, half blind, bald headed fart.....

Thanks.

I'm curious whats under the elevation turret....how many shims are in there, if any and I suspect they are in there......

If the OP needs shims, Vortex sells them in extra packs and I have quite a few laying around.
__________________
'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-01-2013, 11:31 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,388
Re: 100yd or 200yd zero?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SidecarFlip View Post
I'm honored. I actually typed it out and stated it right... Not bad for a 63 years old, half blind, bald headed fart.....

Thanks.

I'm curious whats under the elevation turret....how many shims are in there, if any and I suspect they are in there......

If the OP needs shims, Vortex sells them in extra packs and I have quite a few laying around.
He might have had the windage if he had zeroed at 200 LOL
__________________
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf"
If you want to shoot Bergers start here!
http://www.longrangehunting.com/arti...accuracy-1.php
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-02-2013, 12:04 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 5,602
Re: 100yd or 200yd zero?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5280yotes View Post
Pics..

Vortex viper pst 6-24-50
TPS xtra low rings
EGW .20 Moa base
Brand new 5r mil spec .308
I have the exact same rifle, rings (mine are Lows, not ex low), and the same base. My Konus M30 ran out of top elevation, too. I went to Midway last week and ordered another EGW base, but this time it's a 0 MOA base and when looking through my bore-sighter, everything looks excellent. I should have just enough upward elevation to 0 @ 100, which will leave me 45 MOA of downward adjustment. So, now I have a 0 and a 20 MOA base I can use if I need it.

Just food for thought...

It's odd we have the same setups and different scopes, yet we have the same problem.
__________________
"I'm just a peckerwood who lives in the hills with too many guns..." - Bob Lee Swagger

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-02-2013, 07:56 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 3,460
Re: 100yd or 200yd zero?

.....but his windage issue has something to do with the mounting, Either in the base and the mount to the receiver or the rings or the rings to the rail relationshiup. I won't rule out the scope but I' hjave 4 Vipers and none of them has had any issue with tracking, in fact, they track the square box quite nicely, something I like to do when dialing in just to see if the elevation/windage adjustments work as indicated.

I just believe a competent 'tune up' of the mounting and rough bore sight will cure the issues.
__________________
'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-02-2013, 08:30 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 5,602
Re: 100yd or 200yd zero?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SidecarFlip View Post
.....but his windage issue has something to do with the mounting, Either in the base and the mount to the receiver or the rings or the rings to the rail relationshiup. I won't rule out the scope but I' hjave 4 Vipers and none of them has had any issue with tracking, in fact, they track the square box quite nicely, something I like to do when dialing in just to see if the elevation/windage adjustments work as indicated.

I just believe a competent 'tune up' of the mounting and rough bore sight will cure the issues.
Agreed
__________________
"I'm just a peckerwood who lives in the hills with too many guns..." - Bob Lee Swagger

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 04-02-2013, 10:06 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 248
Re: 100yd or 200yd zero?

OK, my 2 cents.. I generally agree with everything stated: a couple issues though –

I have suspect the windage is off due to the rifle’s scope mounting holes are out of alignment with the bore centerline, I’d believe this normally would not be a problem with a 5R, however, it’s a thought.
If the screw hole taps are out of alignment you may not want to loctite the base down at this point now that you know yo have a problem.. Try drymounting everything to about 90% AFTER EVERYTHING ELSE IS METICULOUSLY CHECKED..then, boresight at 50 yds and check scope’s line of sight, if its off paper (you see paper through bore, but crosshairs not on paper), you may indeed have the mounting screw holes out of alignment, fire a few shots first to dbl check.. there is no ‘quick fix’ for this..

Nobody mentioned (I don’t think) about mechanically centering your scope . Do it first before anything. (check out swfa’s site & forum for good info). If the erector is messed up you may need sending it back or if it was damaged by ‘pizza boy’ then you may have a very expensive useless optical ornament on your hands.. (during boresighting and scope line of sighting, and during your first few shots at 50 yds you aren’t seeing it track at all, you have a messed up tube – assuming you’re on paper).. there are plenty of videos on zeroing properly, see swfa, Midway USA and also u-toob websites..
Also, check you mounted the base correctly, (not backwards).

Good luck.
Lever

Ps. here’s a link , its well worth reading through carefully as well as other areas on the site..
Out of adjustment, is my scope broke? - The Optics Talk Forums
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-04-2013, 09:07 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 262
Re: 100yd or 200yd zero?

I ordered a new 0 moa TPS steel rail on tuesday and should be here friday. I hope the tube is not bent! Im gonna take everything apart this weekend, lap the rings and hopefully get to shoot on sunday. I have looked at everything and nothing appears to be off.. I would think that it if the scope was crooked or something from the screws being off alignment or the rail being jacked up enough for that scope to run out of windage I would be able to see it but it???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
In the last 12 months, what was your longest rifle kill on big game?
0 to 200 yards - 25.98%
1,547 Vote
201 to 400 yards - 32.16%
1,915 Vote
401 to 600 yards - 23.01%
1,370 Vote
601 to 800 yards - 10.04%
598 Votes
801 to 1,000 yards - 3.91%
233 Votes
Over 1,000 yards - 4.89%
291 Votes
Total Votes: 5,954
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC