Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > 7mm STW

Is the STW right for me?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 04:36 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Is the STW right for me?

Thanks guys! Now for my tax return!
How are these clamp on muzzle breaks? Would this be a budget way to go until I buy a custom barrel?
I've been using Barnes in my other rifles for probably five years.
The new Nosler LR Accudonds should be good too!
Old 11-01-2013, 09:12 AM
Bronze Member

The new lr accubonds look awesome!

I agree with the guy above about elr hunting. I don't elk hint only whitetail so 1000 yds and beyond I don't feel comfortable with. No matter what I'm doing non steel and paper right now. I'm not bashing, I just don't feel I have the goods for that. Elk is different story with much larger vitals. The stw can and will getbthw job done but a 338 rum or lapua would be my go to rounds probably. I know the stwxcan do it but I want the most I can get if going that route.

Good luck!
Old 11-01-2013, 03:46 PM
Platinum Member

I use BulletDrop+ for the iPhone. It has drops out to 2000 yards and you can choose between 5, 10, 25, 50, and 100 yard increments. And you can choose between inches, Mils, and MOA.

It's pretty handy, especially if you have scopes that are MOA and Mil-Dot reticles.

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Old 11-01-2013, 04:28 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takem406 View Post
Thanks guys! Now for my tax return!
How are these clamp on muzzle breaks? Would this be a budget way to go until I buy a custom barrel?
I've been using Barnes in my other rifles for probably five years.