Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > 7mm STW

7mm STW Brotherhood - For those who shoot the 7mm Shooting Times Westerner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 11:27 AM
Bronze Member

Re: 7mm STW Brotherhood - For those who shoot the 7mm Shooting Times Westerner

WapitiBob,
Have you ever tried those Berger 180 VLDs on a wapiti ? My second 7mm STW was a Model 70 factory job that became a 300 Weatherby. It has accounted for 7 bulls and other assorted western game over the last 10 years. Now I'm building another STW as a long range elk rifle but I have no experience with the 7mm STW on elk. I've have shot elk with the 300 Weatherby using, Nosler Accubonds, Swift A-frames and Barnes TTSX's. I see the boys on Best of the West bowling big bulls with VLD's but I'm a bit skeptical about a bullet that penetrates 3 inches and grenades.

I be interested in some real life feedback.
Old 04-29-2012, 12:00 PM
Platinum Member

Haha, let's chime in on 168 & 180 berger hunting vld guys, 7mm only...

What have you harvested with the 7stw and 168 bergers or 180 bergers.

I'm just starting re-loading some.
Old 04-29-2012, 12:35 PM
Bronze Member

Question Re: 7mm STW Brotherhood - For those who shoot the 7mm Shooting Times Westerner

That was my question, I guess that I did not state it accurately? I have used Berger VLDs in 1000 and 600 yd bench rest competition shot out of a 6.5x284 Norma. They kill the hell out of target paper.

Who has experience with the Berger VLD's on elk ?
Old 04-29-2012, 12:45 PM
Silver Member

River, I haven't shot a thing with this gun. I'm a bowhunter but reserve WY Antelope for a rifle hunt. I started out wanting a 6.5 x 284 for Antelope then decided I might like to pop a Cow while in WY so I bumped it up to the STW.