Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > 7mm STW

7mm STW Brotherhood - For those who shoot the 7mm Shooting Times Westerner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 08:51 PM
Bronze Member

Re: 7mm STW Brotherhood - For those who shoot the 7mm Shooting Times Westerner

Well, its offical! I picked up a winchester 70 classic stainless in 7mmstw I'm no expert but it couldnt have a box of ammo run through it. I'm pretty excited, and looking to check my bearings on what I'm putting together (using some of what I have sitting around til $$ gets saved back up), and some loading info.

model 70 crf stainless all factory
dnz game reaper one piece mount/base
vortex viper 6.5-20 x 44
hornady 162gr sst (i couldnt pass up $40/200!)
h1000
federal 215m
new remington brass

I've found a bunch of load data and from what i've read i like the stability of h1000 and its supposed to be kinder to the throat. Thoughts on that?

I've never reloaded for a belted case and i'm still foggy on sizing off the shoulder v. belt issue. Thanks in advance. I've already learned a lot from the dozens of pages I've read through.
Old 01-28-2013, 09:09 PM
Platinum Member

Load using the shoulder as a reference like an '06 or similar. You have the original stock on your winny right??? If so you may well have to piller bed or put a laminate stock on it to realize its accuracy potential. We (my dad) had one of the SS's and he traded it because accuracy was flighty. I read later that the win tupperware isn't very sturdy and often needs replacing. Good luck to you; the wins can be fantastic rifles if you learn them. My remmy is still not where I want it, but I've got to actually get it to the range before I can work on it more.