Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Wolf Hunting

Ideal Wolf Hunting Rifle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 02:29 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Ideal Wolf Hunting Rifle

You sure have not offended me, I wish you all the luck in the world. What may work for you is a Barnes ttx (or the one of the other x bullets they have ) or you may try one of the other lead free bullets that is out there. They only open to 1 or maybe 2 times diamater on elk or moose. I have no actual experience on game just yet, it's just from what I've read about them.
You also may want to give Barnes a call or Hornady ( Hornady has a GMX like a Barnes bullet ) They have been good about answering my questions on bullets and recomending bullets for my 6.5 Creedmoor.
I wish you the best of luck at finding a bullet and in your hunting for wolf.

Jesse
Old 08-14-2012, 03:55 PM
Silver Member

These wolves are not supernatural werewolves...IF you hit any animal in a non-vital area... you lose him. When you skin out and look at the small kill zone on wolves you see the real crux of the problem. As an ole friend says, a bowling ball out of a 747 or a bullet...you still gotta hit em in the vitals. Better accuracy and quick follow-up shots. These wolves don't have a gristle plate like hogs and cape buffalo nor iron hide like elephants and rhino nor are they thick muscle padded like bears and moose. You can stitch up a hole in a dead wolf but fur from a wolf is a value added that is only to worried about after you have killed the dog. Who is going to spend this disproportionate amount of time for the financial reward of a wolf pelt for fur sale...no, these devils are hunted for the challenge.
Old 08-14-2012, 05:18 PM
Bronze Member

Old 08-15-2012, 05:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hubb View Post