Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > AR15/10 Rifles

Range Report: DPMS GII Bull

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2014, 05:41 AM

Range Report: DPMS GII Bull

How's it going guys? This rifle was recently released at the Shot Show a month ago and I couldn't find any reviews so I thought I'd do one for you curious shooters, cause I recently was one also. The Gen II is a new design, not your standard AR-10 but I'm sure most of you seen it. If not, check out DPMS website to read about it a little more. I took the gamble and bought the DPMS GII Bull, ordered it a couple weeks ago and received it the other day. Finally got to shoot this gun today and I'm impressed but this is my first a/r so I'm no expert at all. Just wanted to share what I experienced at the range since this is such a new gun with no reviews. I'll start off with mentioning I had no issues with this gun, it fed everything from cheap Magtech ammo to the Hornady Match ammo I gave it. The gun is still heavy but I'll take it considering it's a pound lighter than the original LR-308. I threw on a Millett scope, Weaver Picatinny rings, cleaned it and headed out of town. After I sighted it in with some ball ammo I threw in the 168 gr. Hornady Match ammo to see what type of groups I can get. I shot it prone with a sandbag in the rear at 100 yards. It shot a .368 inch group. Was surprised it shot so well with this ammo, I made an adjustment on my scope and shot 6 eggs in a row. Sun was going down and I wanted to see what it will do at 500 so I quickly moved the target and used my rangefinder until I was 500 yards out. Made my adjustments according to my drop chart and let three go. Drove up to the target and seen I had a pretty decent group (for my shooting). It is pictured below in my pictures I attached. I ran out of sunlight so unfortunately I didn't get to test this rifle anymore. I was also doing a bore break in