Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > AR15/10 Rifles


Reply

Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2012, 04:35 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW WI
Posts: 31
Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

I have an r15 (22") and 3x12x42 m223 scope. I whipped up some surprisingly accurate 55vmax loads pushed with Benchmark (.2" 3 shots 100yd) and my chrony's averaging 3250fps, but the elevation markings aren't very close to what it should be. At 400 my scope is set 350ish, etc. Is the velocity claim on the scope turret (55vmax @3240) correct? Am i outrunning most factory ammo in 55gn bullets? Considering that Nikon probably based their adjustments on box ammo. Any feedback is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2012, 01:41 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Temecula CA
Posts: 381
Re: Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sconnie264 View Post
I have an r15 (22") and 3x12x42 m223 scope. I whipped up some surprisingly accurate 55vmax loads pushed with Benchmark (.2" 3 shots 100yd) and my chrony's averaging 3250fps, but the elevation markings aren't very close to what it should be. At 400 my scope is set 350ish, etc. Is the velocity claim on the scope turret (55vmax @3240) correct? Am i outrunning most factory ammo in 55gn bullets? Considering that Nikon probably based their adjustments on box ammo. Any feedback is appreciated.
Since that scope is a second focal plane scope you could adjust the magnification until the little circles correspond to the correct ranges.
__________________
.308 Howa 1500, 24" varmint barrel, Harris bipod Bell & Carlson MkII tactical stock. 4-14x50 tactical scope from Wonder Optics.

http://web.me.com/rdsii64/shooter64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:08 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW WI
Posts: 31
Re: Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdsii64 View Post
Since that scope is a second focal plane scope you could adjust the magnification until the little circles correspond to the correct ranges.
It is a graduated turret, not a mil-dot type scope or that'd deffinatly work. Thank you for the response though!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2012, 11:20 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Re: Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

probably a dumb question but did you make sure you have it zeroed for what the scope suggests? Some make you have something other than a 100 yd zero for the bdc reticle to work. Might have to have a 50/200 yd zero
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2012, 03:01 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 35
Re: Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

Is your altitiude the same as what the scope was built for? My guess says you are not very close to 8000 feet, and if you are pretty close to sea level, it is not very warm.
__________________
bs

Nocte Venator
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2012, 09:38 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW WI
Posts: 31
Re: Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

Quote:
Originally Posted by battlestick View Post
Is your altitiude the same as what the scope was built for? My guess says you are not very close to 8000 feet, and if you are pretty close to sea level, it is not very warm.
That makes alot of sense! Is that scope actually made for 8000ft?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2012, 08:49 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 35
Re: Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?

Most scopes with BDC reticles are made for an average. This would minimize the amount of discrepancy at varying altitudes.

For example, if you were at sea level and the reticle is calibrated for 16k feet, you will be way off....and vice versa. So to minimize this and to appeal to the broadest market, manufacturers have to compromise somewhere. This is why in the manual for each scope it still tells you that you must shoot it to verify.

One way to utlize a BDC reticle that doesn't match your loads is to tune your load to the reticle. Play with a ballistic calculator and find out what velocity at your altitude will get the closest to the calibration for your reticle. Then find the node your rifle likes closest to that velocity. Then of course, shoot to verify.

I can help with this and give you real world examples if you like. I have done this for two rifles with the Vortex BDC retcile.
__________________
bs

Nocte Venator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Nikon m223 rapid action. 55vmax Loads?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with Nikon M223 js9088 Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 17 11-05-2014 10:10 PM
Nikon m223 scope mount? threejones AR15/10 Rifles 28 09-07-2014 01:49 PM
***SPF*** Zeiss 4.5-14x50 Rapid Z 1000 - Zeiss 6.5-20x50 Rapid Z Varmint nortac Optics For Sale 12 10-29-2011 08:33 AM
WTS: Pride Fowler Rapid Reticle Action-4 Reflex Sight for $199 from Webyshops com Fre Weby Shops Optics For Sale 0 08-14-2011 04:44 PM
Rapid z800 vs. Rapid Z 1000 ponsoldt Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 0 03-13-2010 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC