Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > AR15/10 Rifles


Reply

Ar10 barrel nut shim

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2013, 02:16 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 6
Ar10 barrel nut shim

I'm trying to install a free float tube on my dpms lr308 and I can't get the nut to line up with the gas tube hole. I have searched for a shim or an alternative with no luck. I need help! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2013, 08:42 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sedalia, MO
Posts: 1,253
Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

Okiesooner3,

What are you torquing it to? Several different styles out there, so some pics may help. Many of them are just a bit different, but you should be able to torque the nut far enough to get one of the holes lined uop with the gas tube hole in the upper. Use an alignment tool to verify this, but that's where you want it to be.

And no, there shouldn't be any shims involved in this.
__________________
Kevin Thomas
Lapua USA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2013, 09:54 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 6
Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

Ar10 barrel nut shim-image.jpg
I am less than 30 lbs when I go past one hole and am at 80 before I get to the next. I might add that it took a ridiculous amount of torque to get original barrel nut off.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2013, 12:17 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sedalia, MO
Posts: 1,253
Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

You'll note that most of the build guides (okay, all of them) list a minimum spec for torque, but virtually none list a Max. You want to run in up to the spec'd minimum torque figure, and then past that mark to the next hole that aligns. I'd recommend using a good anti-seize as lube, and doing the whole torque it up/back it off routine at least three times before the final installation.

Give that a whirl, and it should work for you.
__________________
Kevin Thomas
Lapua USA
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2013, 03:49 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 6
Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

Thank you Kevin, I will give that a whirl. Would a 100 or even 150 lbs of torque be to much?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2013, 04:07 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sedalia, MO
Posts: 1,253
Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

I doubt you'll go that much, but I've seen several that were dancing arounf the 80 ft.lb. range. Do the torque/back off drill at least three times, and you'll lessen some of the stresses a bit. And don't forget the anti-seize!
__________________
Kevin Thomas
Lapua USA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2013, 05:14 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SW Wisconsin
Posts: 222
Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

Another option is to take a skim cut with a lathe on the interior shoulder on the forend. Just a thou or three would be about right.... That said, torque as stated three times or so, and snug er up to that next hole...some of them can be quite a lot to get to the 'next' hole, and the one previous is just too loose.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
ar10, lr308 barrel nut, shim

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC