close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > AR15/10 Rifles

Reply

Ar10 barrel nut shim

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 04-15-2013, 02:16 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 6
Ar10 barrel nut shim

I'm trying to install a free float tube on my dpms lr308 and I can't get the nut to line up with the gas tube hole. I have searched for a shim or an alternative with no luck. I need help! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 04-15-2013, 08:42 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Sedalia, MO
    Posts: 1,256
    Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

    Okiesooner3,

    What are you torquing it to? Several different styles out there, so some pics may help. Many of them are just a bit different, but you should be able to torque the nut far enough to get one of the holes lined uop with the gas tube hole in the upper. Use an alignment tool to verify this, but that's where you want it to be.

    And no, there shouldn't be any shims involved in this.
    __________________
    Kevin Thomas
    Lapua USA
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 04-15-2013, 09:54 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Location: Central Texas
    Posts: 6
    Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

    Ar10 barrel nut shim-image.jpg
    I am less than 30 lbs when I go past one hole and am at 80 before I get to the next. I might add that it took a ridiculous amount of torque to get original barrel nut off.
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 04-15-2013, 12:17 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Sedalia, MO
    Posts: 1,256
    Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

    You'll note that most of the build guides (okay, all of them) list a minimum spec for torque, but virtually none list a Max. You want to run in up to the spec'd minimum torque figure, and then past that mark to the next hole that aligns. I'd recommend using a good anti-seize as lube, and doing the whole torque it up/back it off routine at least three times before the final installation.

    Give that a whirl, and it should work for you.
    __________________
    Kevin Thomas
    Lapua USA
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 04-15-2013, 03:49 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Location: Central Texas
    Posts: 6
    Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

    Thank you Kevin, I will give that a whirl. Would a 100 or even 150 lbs of torque be to much?
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 04-15-2013, 04:07 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Sedalia, MO
    Posts: 1,256
    Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

    I doubt you'll go that much, but I've seen several that were dancing arounf the 80 ft.lb. range. Do the torque/back off drill at least three times, and you'll lessen some of the stresses a bit. And don't forget the anti-seize!
    __________________
    Kevin Thomas
    Lapua USA
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 04-17-2013, 05:14 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Location: SW Wisconsin
    Posts: 225
    Re: Ar10 barrel nut shim

    Another option is to take a skim cut with a lathe on the interior shoulder on the forend. Just a thou or three would be about right.... That said, torque as stated three times or so, and snug er up to that next hole...some of them can be quite a lot to get to the 'next' hole, and the one previous is just too loose.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Tags
    ar10, lr308 barrel nut, shim

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC