Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > AR15/10 Rifles

Anyone have any experence with a 450 Bushmaster or 30 RemAR?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 08:42 PM
Bronze Member

Anyone have any experence with a 450 Bushmaster or 30 RemAR?

I want a new hog gun that will reload faster than a bolt action. I definately don't want 223! It normally takes more than one hit with 223 to bring them down on the run.
Old 12-07-2011, 09:12 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Anyone have any experence with a 450 Bushmaster or 30 RemAR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coy Franks View Post
I want a new hog gun that will reload faster than a bolt action. I definately don't want 223! It normally takes more than one hit with 223 to bring them down on the run.
I have a 450 bushmaster upper on my AR and it is awesome.

I bought it for hogs an to go with my Tac 15 crossbow.

A 250 grain bullet at 2200 ft/sec with 2686 ft.lbs of energy is no slouch.

It will role them. The downside is recoil. I replaced the factory break with
a large ported break to tame the beast and take it easy on the AR 15 lower.

I also have a green aluminator on it so shooting a night is not a problem.

Accuracy is below 1 MOA and 250 to 300 yards is reasonable.

J E CUSTOM
Old 12-07-2011, 09:33 PM
Bronze Member

JE, does it buck enough to loose sight picture between rounds? What do you compare the recoil to now with the improved brake?
Old 12-08-2011, 10:56 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
JE, does it buck enough to loose sight picture between rounds? What do you compare the recoil to now with the improved brake?
I would loose the sight picture because of the muzzle rise would be 10 to 15 degrees.

I put a Ross Schuler ported brake with 3 vents on the top and muzzle climb is almost zero
and recoil is about that of a 30/06. (Brakes don't work as well on big bores because they are