Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > PSE TAC 15/15i Crossbow Hunting Forum

Phathead broadhead accuracy test & review

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2011, 09:31 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Phathead broadhead accuracy test & review

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripsaw View Post
Look Super, Do what you want, But just remember it is a physical fact that when you put wings on the front of an arrow everything becomes more critical. I understand the advantages of fixed blades I wished they shot like Mechanicals, but they don't: that why manufacturers build mechanicals.
Listen, I'm not here to bash heads, I merely am agreeing to disagree somewhat with you. I'm not trying to start a big debate, I merely am pointing out some things I have some experience with, just like you.

I do agree that putting a broadhead on a shaft causes things to change as far as flight generally speaking. There is a lot of tuning involved to get the same flight as field points. But as you mentioned that manufacturers make mechanicals, they also make super short heads with adequate cutting diameters that fly nearly the same as field points if properly tuned. Also, the longer the head, the more the change in weight distribution which will also affect how the spine reacts to a given head. The shorter heads tend to perform more like the field points which is in itself an advantage.

I am not so much refuting what you are saying as I am merely sharing my experiences. I have had the pleasure to shoot the TAC-15 for a year now, and have tried and tested a lot of heads and fletching configs to the this point. Most standard heads will not fly out of this bow due to the high speeds and exactly what you are saying. But some heads do and it is mainly due to the design of the head.
Old 03-14-2011, 04:26 PM
Silver Member