Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > PSE TAC 15/15i Crossbow Hunting Forum

Fletching Tac 15i arrows

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 10:09 PM

Fletching Tac 15i arrows

I am new to archery however I am the proud owner of a Tac 15i cross bow. I bought a Bitzenburger Fletching Jig to repair many of my damage arrows. When I install the fletching should it be parallel with the shaft or a slight angle to the length of the shaft ? Paul
Old 11-07-2012, 12:28 AM
Silver Member

Re: Fletching Tac 15i arrows

Hi Paul,
The slight degree of angle you mentioned is better known as a Straight Offset in archer terms. When fletching the TAC15 arrows the manufacturer only uses a perfectly straight fletch. This means no offset on your Bitzenburger Jig at all.

In order to achieve the proper spacing between each vane you would need to be using a special nock receiver in the Fletching Jig. It's Bitzenburger nock receiver #3012 I believe. This nock receiver when installed will provide vane spacing' of 60 degrees x 120 degrees. The standard nock receiver is only capable of spacing the vanes at 90 degrees on each vane. This will not work on the TAC15 because your vanes will make contact with your upper Weaver Rail and you'll end up with a number of problems. The optional nock receiver can be ordered directly from Bitzenburger at about $18.

Make sure you are using a premium quality fast set cement on your vanes and before starting any vane placements make sure that you pre-wipe your arrow shaft and vane base with Acetone on a clean cloth. Do not bypass this step if you want your vanes to stay on the shafts on a long term basis.