Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > PSE TAC 15/15i Crossbow Hunting Forum

FireNock on TAC15 arrow

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2013, 06:15 PM

FireNock on TAC15 arrow

Leave it to the new guy. I posted this earlier on the new guy intro forum by mistake and then found the TAC15 forum. I am in the process of reading everything on the site and am hoping that I haven't made an expensive mistake buying the TAC15 Elite.

I just purchased my new PSE TAC15 Elite and arrows. I decided to install Firenock illuminated nocks on some of them so that I wouldn't lose any of these pricey arrows while hunting. I contacted PSE for advice on using the Firenocks or other brands and was told by PSE tech support that PSE didn't recommend using them as they could possibly damage the crossbow and would void the warranty of the bow. WOW!!! I am just getting into this crossbow business and decided to go whole hog and buy the best money could buy. What experience does anyone out there have with the Firenock? Any help appreciated. I just ordered 6 of these Firenocks from LRH.

Thanks,

Alton
Savannah, GA
Old 10-02-2013, 08:10 PM

Re: FireNock on TAC15 arrow

Thats odd. The PSE rep that lives near me is building me six arrows right now with firenocks. I wish he would hurry up.
Old 10-02-2013, 08:16 PM

Thanks for the rapid reply. Everything that I have read so far tells me that the extreme speed of the bow will splinter the arrow shaft if the nock is not fitted tightly on the shaft. One site suggested using a "Bulldog collar" to prevent damage to the shaft. I wish that more info was out there concerning this issue.

Alton
Old 10-02-2013, 10:05 PM

My buddy just bought six fire nocks and installed them himself on PSE bolts. He has shot them many times with no issues. He gets off work kinda late and shoots his Tac right at/before dark.