Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Maps, GPS and Google Earth

Whats the best map chip for garmin?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 07:43 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Whats the best map chip for garmin?

You betcha it is! I love mine and all the Wyoming Game Wardens now have a Garmin with the chip in them and they are using it to determine trespassing complaints according to the one I've known out there for about ten years.
Old 03-05-2013, 12:03 AM
Bronze Member

Hi everyone - first time poster here on LRH, I'm a newb

Anyhow in response the OP's question, I wouldn't pay for any Public Land GPS chip. You can just about find any type of Garmin map you desire for free at GPSFileDepot - Free Custom Garmin Maps, Ximage hosting, tutorials, articles and more for your GPSr

Or my personal favorite maps, if you're looking for a Montana map is Montana Topo - Public Lands

Enjoy!!
Old 03-07-2013, 09:53 PM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elk Addict View Post
Hi everyone - first time poster here on LRH, I'm a newb

Anyhow in response the OP's question, I wouldn't pay for any Public Land GPS chip. You can just about find any type of Garmin map you desire for free at GPSFileDepot - Free Custom Garmin Maps, Ximage hosting, tutorials, articles and more for your GPSr

Or my personal favorite maps, if you're looking for a Montana map is Montana Topo - Public Lands

Enjoy!!
got the maps for MT and ID they look great! only difference I can see from the paid versions is the landowners names.
cant beat the price, still looking for WY maps also
Old 04-05-2013, 10:11 PM
Silver Member

I ordered the South Dakota gpshuntingmaps.com and found out when I went hunting they don't have land owner names and who owns it. So that makes that chip no good for me very disappointed in product. When I ordered it it never said that the private land did not have land owner names on it, so make sure you check before u order