Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Long Range Shotgun Slug Hunting

most accurate long range shotgun.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2013, 05:14 PM
Silver Member

Re: most accurate long range shotgun.

Anyone have any luck reloading slugs. My thought is I could purchase cutting edge bullets like the .458 socom bullet and have them ground down to the 45 cal if necessary. If I could work up a load hotter than the factory accutips in shooting say 2100 or 2200 fps. Then if i could get the same accuracy I would be in. Problem is i have no experience in reloading slugs and dont know if this is possible or wishfull thinking.
Old 01-09-2014, 07:11 PM

I have a 212 Savage slug gun with hits on steel at 633 yards, using Winchester supreme elites 3", and have thrown dirt on 750 yard targets, running out of scope and the 5 dollar slugs! My gun uses an EGW base with a Horus Hawk scope, Leopold rings and is very consistent! All this of course was for giggles not actually hunting but it proved a lot to me!
Old 02-19-2014, 03:41 AM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by snox801 View Post
I would like to start a discussion about how we could mame the most accurate shotgun. Currently I am using an H&R and accutips after trying all others. I am looking for ideas or suggestions to make it better. My list so far is simple, I am having a crown cut were there is none. That is all I can come up with. The trigger job creates some new problems with the safety so thats out. Any thoughts.